Taking of Pelham One,Two, Three(1974)

MV5BMjE1NDY0NDk3Ml5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMTAzMTM3NA@@._V1_SY1000_CR0,0,666,1000_AL_

Taking of Pelham 122 (1974)

Release date: November 14th, 1974

Genre: Crime, Drama, Thriller

Director: Joseph Sargent

Writers: John Godey (Novel) Peter Stone (Screenplay)

Cast: Walter Matthau, Robert Shaw, Martin Balsam, Jerry Stiller

Plot:

A small group of terrorists holds a New York City subway train full of people hostage for one million dollars.

Opening Thoughts:

Every once and a while there was a film I watched in my life that had a tremendous impact on me.  The Taking of Pelham One, Two, Three is one of these kinds of films. It shaped my early ideas of New York City (outdated as they may be), but also made me appreciate filmmaking more than ever before. After my rewatch, I am reminded as to why the late 1960s and 1970s remains my favorite era in film.

Dislikes:

Honestly, the film is incredibly well-made and exhibits very few flaws. I have nothing major to point out as a flaw with this film.

Likes:

The cast is incredible and plays their roles in a gritty and realistic fashion. Walter Matthau is often known for his comedic roles, but it is good to see him act as a hard-nosed and dedicated chief of the Transit Police of New York City.

Matthau may get most of my attention, but the likes of Jerry Stiller, Robert Shaw, and Martin Balsam complete a very sound cast delivering fine performances.

Often times, I will struggle with a film’s pacing. Either they rush things or move far too slowly and it causes me to lose interest in watching. This is not the case with this film. Just about everything that happens proceeds at the right pace, I never feel bored and I’m always ready for the next sequence.

Also, it has this dark sense of humor to it. It recognizes that it is a hostage scenario movie inspired by true events. There is plenty of peril and even death, but it has this New York City edge to it that helps create an atmosphere that this situation in such a way was definitely happening in New York. The way people are talking, the diversity on the subway, and the general attitude of the people.  I suppose I appreciate that New York City sarcasm and hyperbole more than others.

This film isn’t just a heist movie, but rather a message to the world about the state of New York City. A once proud metropolitan city on the verge of collapse. Filled with crime, despair, and death. It represents all that had gone wrong within the city during the last two decades accumulating to this terrible point in time.

Conclusion:

Taking Pelham One, Two, Three is a great film from the 1970s. It combines a great cast and crew with heavier concepts about the degradation of New York City. Once a shining city filled with prosperity and hope, now much maligned and infested with crime. However, it also shows a pathway out for New York City through its dedicated workers and resilient nature.  This film shows us all that is (1970’s NYC) and all the potential remaining in this great city.

Leave a comment