Movie Review: The Lego Batman Movie

mv5bmtcynteyoty0m15bml5banbnxkftztgwotaynzu3mdi-_v1_sy1000_cr006741000_al_.jpg

The Lego Batman Movie (2017)

Genre: Animated, Comedy, Action

IMDb:7.8 of 17,000+

Starring: (Voice Cast ) Will Arnett, Michael Cera, Zach Galifinakis, Jenny Slate, Ralph Fiennes, Rosario Dawson

Budget: 80 Million

Current Box Office:  72.1 Million/ Worldwide: 109 Million

What I Didn’t Like

Not a whole lot to hate about this film.  I guess my one issue is that I wanted to laugh more. Perhaps I’m getting older and some jokes don’t land like they once did. The movie was funny and entertaining throughout, but never got me laughing heartily.

What I Did Like

The voice cast was excellent. Will Arnett shines as Lego Batman. He brings that hardcore version of Batman which can be so easy to make fun of.  The supporting cast was delightful. You get enough of each character without them getting too annoying.  (I totally thought Michael Cera’s Robin was going to annoy me. I’m pleased to say he didn’t.)

Batman is a hard character to show growth with. He can be so rigid and unquestionable at times.  However, this Batman film shows that Batman’s intensity can get him into trouble. That he can evolve his character. I give this film credit for the attempt and even more for the achievement.

Zach Galifinakis as The Joker was another surprise. He was everything I wanted in The Joker and more.  While he may not be Hamill, Ledger, or Nicholson. He certainly played the character in a delightfully kooky and criminal at the same time.  I hope there is another Lego Batman and I wouldn’t mind seeing Galifinakis return.

The action is wonderfully animated and thrilling. The animation is of a fine quality. Even better than The Lego Movie in 2014. Everything looks like legos, right now to the water and the explosions.

Oh and there is an awesome song to go with this one which is almost as good as “Everything is Awesome”.

Conclusion

I really want to see a live-action version of this Joker version. However, taking what I received. The Lego Batman was an exceptional animated comedy. Proving that the Lego franchise has legs beyond what many expected. There was heart, humor, awesome Lego animation.  Everything I could have hoped for with this film.  If you loved the Lego Movie, or love Batman, but are able to make fun of him at times. Then you should absolutely watch this film.

The Ladder

The Lego Batman Movie (2017)

The Lego Movie (2014)

Storks (2016)-A Warner Brothers Animated Comedy.

 

3 thoughts on “Movie Review: The Lego Batman Movie

Leave a comment