Andrew’s Movie Picks for August 2017

Finally, 2017 is getting interesting. Some Oscar contenders emerge as well as several blockbuster films.  What of August?  Traditionally a slower month compared to May, June, or July.

 

August 4th, 2017

MV5BMTU3MjUwMzQ3MF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMjcwNjkxMjI@._V1_SY1000_CR0,0,674,1000_AL_.jpg

The Dark Tower

Genre: Action, Adventure, Fantasy

Starring: Idris Elba, Matthew McConaughey

Inspired by the Stephen King series of the same name. A Gunslinger (Elba) goes in search of the Man in Black (McConaughey). All the while in the process of looking for The Dark Tower where he hopes to save his dying world. A very interesting idea by a talented author. The trailers appear to show an entertaining post-apocalyptic world with demons and legendary guardians.

 

MV5BMTUyMjU1OTUwM15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMDg1NDQ2MjI@._V1_SY1000_CR0,0,674,1000_AL_.jpg

Wind River

Genre: Action, Crime, Mystery

Starring: Elizabeth Olson, Jon Bernthal, Jeremy Renner

An FBI agent and a veteran game tracker team up to investigate a murder that occurred on a Native American reservation. Reminds me of Thunderheart (1992) which isn’t a bad thing.  However, if it borrows too heavily from Thunderheart, you better believe I’m going to unleash my complaints. Do I want this film to do well?  I do, but I’m cautious with films of this nature. Credit to Jeremy Renner, he has taken on some lowkey roles and nailed them recently like Kill the Messenger (2014).
Detroit– The story of a grisly murder of three black men in Detroit during the Detroit Rebellion of the 1960’s. Directed by the talented Kathryn Bigelow (Zero Dark Thirty/The Hurt Locker) and starring John Boyega and Anthony Mackie. I didn’t grow up in this time, but I know it was a tumultuous era in American history. Lots of race riots and more injustices than we ever will know. This movie sheds light on this disturbing event. I think we have much to learn about our past, but perhaps also about our present from this film.

August 11th, 2017

The Only Living Boy In New York

Genre: Drama

Director: Marc Webb

Starring: Jeff Bridges, Kate Beckinsale, Pierce Brosnan,

About a college graduate who has his world upended by his father’s mistress.  It is set in present-day New York City. I really liked Webb’s Gifted (2017). If this movie brings any of the same wit, intelligence, and sound writing, it will be worth your time to watch.

MV5BMjA1MzIwMjMxNF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMDQ3NTc2MjI@._V1_SY1000_CR0,0,674,1000_AL_

Annabelle: Creation–  Perhaps like last year with Ouija: Origin of Evil, this will be a considerable improvement over the first one. We must hope, because aside from a few scenes, that first film was disappointment.

The Glass Castle– A coming-of-age drama where a young girl grows up in a dysfunctional family. Learning to interact in various forms with two very different parents. This is the classic indie-drama to me. Eccentric family, coming of age while living in poverty, and artistic expression.  Starring Brie Larson, Woody Harrelson, Max Greenfield, and Naomi Watts.

MV5BNzE3Mzc5NTc4M15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMDYwNzM3MjI@._V1_SY1000_CR0,0,704,1000_AL_.jpg

Ingrid Goes West– A deranged stalker travels to Los Angeles in order to follow in the footsteps of a social media celebrity.  Featuring the talents of Aubrey Plaza, Elizabeth Olson, and O’Shea Jackson Jr.  I’m starting to wonder if Aubrey Plaza best days will lie only in Parks and Recreation.  I’ve seen her be funny, I love seeing her in films, but I’m hoping she comes out with a few good ones.  The previous two are so terrible, I don’t even want to mention them. (Dirty Grandpa (2016) is one of them. I’m not saying the other, I promise.)

The Nut Job 2 – How did this get a sequel? How?  This is unacceptable. I could write a better animated film that would very likely make a ton more money and set up a franchise a hundred times better. I’m saying that to be insulting, but just stating a fact. This is garbage and should be treated as such.

August 18th, 2017

MV5BMjQ5NjA2NDg1MV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMDAzNDc4MjI@._V1_SY1000_CR0,0,657,1000_AL_.jpg

The Hitman’s Bodyguard– A buddy-comedy featuring Ryan Reynolds and Samuel L. Jackson being slightly exaggerated versions of themselves. Reynolds is assigned to protect a notorious hitman played by Jackson.  Also features Salma Hayek and Gary Oldman to assist. Could this be good? Sure, but I’m not holding my breath.

August 25th, 2017

Tulip Fever – A romantic movie based in 17th Century Amsterdam. I’m not a huge fan of romance films. Featuring a talented cast including Judi Dench, Christoph Waltz, Alicia Vikander, and Dane DeHaan. (For some reason this movie makes me think of 2015’s The Danish Girl.)

4 thoughts on “Andrew’s Movie Picks for August 2017

  1. I’m not sure if I’ll even watch The Dark Tower. It just hasn’t interested me in the slightest. I don’t anticipate it will be very good. Seems The Glass Castle and Wind River are the only August releases I want to see, and honestly this is the first I’ve ever heard of Wind River. I hope The Hitman’s Bodyguard is good. I do love a good buddy-comedy movie (Lethal Weapon’s one of my favorite movie series) but I’m not gonna hold my breath.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

