Andrew’s Movie Picks for May 2017

Finally, after four months of mediocre (minus a couple true gems), we get to the good stuff. The Summer Blockbuster Season.  Will this May kick off a special summer or another bland malaise?

May 2017

May 5th, 2017

MV5BMTg2MzI1MTg3OF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwNTU3NDA2MTI@._V1_SY1000_CR0,0,674,1000_AL_.jpg

Guardians of the Galaxy 2

Genre: Action/Adventure, Superhero Fantasy/Science Fiction

Director: James Gunn

Starring: Chris Pratt, Zoe Saldana, Bradley Cooper, Kurt Russell, Glen Close,

The original shocked many and turned out quite awesome. It had action and comedy in a near perfect mix. However, now we know about the Guardians of the Galaxy, we have expectations for the film to meet.  It seems clear that this movie isn’t going to be awful, (Marvel has yet to create a truly terrible film.) but can it surpass the original?   Logan blew many of us away with its gritty take on the superhero genre.  Now comes the more familiar fun and colorful Guardians.

I have my doubts it can hit the same notes with consistency. It feels like there is so much going into the movie. (Serious Avengers plot,  Starlord’s father story, at least one romance, a mysterious new villain (Likely Lady De….nevermind.), and possible lead into Thor: Ragnorak (where I expect at least a GotG cameo.) This film could be fantastic, but it has to tie in a lot of things.

 

May 12th, 2017

MV5BMjM3ODY3Njc5Ml5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMjQ5NjM5MTI@._V1_SY1000_CR0,0,674,1000_AL_.jpg

 

King Arthur: Legend of the Sword

Genre: Action, Adventure, Drama

Director: Guy Ritchie

Starring:  Charlie Hunnam, Jude Law

Been a long time we had a non-LOTR inspired medieval masterpiece.  Could this be it? Maybe it is the Led Zeppelin song in the trailer, but this one totally pumps me up. I can’t to see how it works out. Granted, the story has been told many times. Can Guy Ritchie and company bring anything new to it? I am hopeful.

 

MV5BZTI5NWY1YTQtODYxMi00M2VmLTgzNDQtMGM3NWU5YjViNDE5XkEyXkFqcGdeQXVyMTkxNjUyNQ@@._V1_SY1000_SX675_AL_.jpg

Snatched

Genre: Comedy, Action

Starring: Amy Schumer, Goldie Hawn

I don’t think Amy Schumer is all that funny. Her style doesn’t inspire much, but Goldie Hawn I enjoy. Been too long since I saw a Hawn film I could love. I hope this is it, I do recognize Schumer’s abilities as a comic and I will root for this film to be better than her last which wasn’t a trainwreck, but wasn’t one to watch again either.

 

May 19th, 2017

MV5BNzI5MzM3MzkxNF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwOTkyMjI4MTI@._V1_SY1000_CR0,0,673,1000_AL_

 

Alien: Covenant

Genre: Action, Horror,

Director: Ridley Scott

Starring: Michael Fassbender, James Franco, Guy Pearce, Danny McBride, Billy Crudup

Hey, Alien franchise is back in the prequel,sequel reboot of the franchise. Huzzah? New crew, “new” planet, and a familiar looking creature to chew them up.  Ridley Scott is capable of brilliant things and I want this to be good, but it feels too much like a big summer movie and not the artistic masterpiece of horror I long for.  That’s on me for having too big of expectations. Then again, maybe it is artwork and the trailers are simply trying to fill the seats. (It is a glorified commercial after all). I will watch and root for greatness, but I won’t go in expecting it.

 

May 25th, 2017

Baywatch– I like Dwayne Johnson but sometimes he gets involved with too much. I get it, he is popular, but other people can have a role in a film.   I also like Zac Efron, but I just can’t find a care for this film. I never watched Baywatch on television. This film looks like it could have its funny moments, but little to no heart. (Comedies used to have heart and sometimes discussed serious things alongside its comedy. We need that again!)

May 26th, 2017

Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales

They actually made another of these! I found the last one to be unwatchable although I guess I should give it another look.  Depp is really falling because of rumors of domestic abuse. (Have the courts ruled on that yet?)  Whatever the case, he did something lousy and his image is terrible right now.  So, here is another of these movies that I don’t think anyone asked for. Part of me wouldn’t mind another swashbuckling adventure, but a larger part of me just wants this franchise to end!

Leave a Reply

