Leftovers from March 2017

 

March isn’t always this awesome, but 2017 was some kind of special as we got multiple great films. Let’s look at them just in case you were wondering if you missed any good ones.

Please note that all these films are still making money. Some haven’t even opened in new markets yet.

Leftovers of March

Fresh

logan_poster_291216

Logan

Genre: Drama, Western, Science Fiction

Director: James Mangold

Starring: Hugh Jackman, Patrick Stewart, Dafne Keen,

Budget: 97 Million

Box Office- Domestic- 211.8+ and 585.6 worldwide

IMDb: 8.5 of 200,000+

This movie was spectacular! It was everything I could have asked for in a Wolverine movie and more. Brutal and profound. A perfect end to Hugh Jackman’s career as The Wolverine (Most likely).  For me, it is easily the best film of the year to date.

Check out my full review at https://jumpcutuk.com/portfolio/logan/

As for youtube people doing reviews. One of my favorites remains Aristotle Full Throttle. Check out his Logan review below.

 

Beauty and the Beast

Genre: Fantasy, Romance

Director: Bill Condon

Starring: Emma Watson, Dan Stevens, Ian McKellen, Luke Evans, Josh Gad, Emma Thompson, Ewan McGregor, Stanley Tucci, Kevin Kline

Budget: 160 Million

Box Office: Domestic: 395.4 Million/ Worldwide: 877 million

IMDb: 7.8 of 68,000

The film lacks originality, but I believe the majority weren’t wanting a different story. They wanted a re-imagining of the classic Disney animated film. That is what they got.  I found this movie to be funnier than the original and certain aspects that were changed improved upon the original.  It wasn’t perfect, but it was surely enjoyable.  Luke Evans was brilliant!

Here is my review of the film.   https://andrewthemovieguy714.wordpress.com/2017/03/17/movie-review-beauty-and-the-beast-no-ugliness-here/?frame-nonce=543d048a4a

Now, although I disagree. There are those out there that didn’t like this version of Beauty and the Beast. For those people or for a different critical POV. Check out https://jumpcutuk.com/portfolio/beauty-and-the-beast-2017/

T2: Trainspotting 2

Genre: Crime, Comedy

Director: Danny Boyle

Starring: Ewan McGregor

Budget: 18 million

Box Office: Domestic 1.1 million. Worldwide 34.3 million

IMDb: 7.7 of 24,000+

A film I had no interest in, but will likely be among the finest films of the year. (Much like the original.)  If you enjoyed Trainspotting (1996), it seems like you will love this one,too.

A well written review  from a fan of the original.

http://www.cautionspoilers.com/film-reviews/t2-trainspotting/

 

Matter of Taste

The Shack

Genre: Drama/Fantasy

Starring: Octavia Spencer

The trailers for this film looked ghastly, but we all know that movies can not be judged by trailers alone. Keep in mind that if you are not of the Christian faith, you will likely not enjoy this movie or much less so.

 

Before I Fall

Genre: Drama, Mystery

In the same vein as Groundhog’s Day (1993) except very much not a comedy. A young woman relives the same day of her life over and over again. Throughout she learns details and solves mysteries about her life and other aspects I won’t spoil.

Moviehottake.com is a voracious movie reviewer and I encourage you to check this review out.

http://moviehottake.com/2017/03/hot-take-before-i-fall/

 

The Last Word

Genre: Comedy, Drama

Starring: Shirley MacLaine, Amanda Seyfried

An indie-comedy-drama that I had high hopes for. The premise is interesting and the reviews I have seen are decent. It is a low budget film and won’t win over everyone, but my interest is still there.

 

Ghost in the Shell

Genre: Action, Crime, Drama

I always found the ideas within this anime interesting. Though I was not loving the outlook for this film. I didn’t like the casting of Scarlett Johansson (Great actress, but not her role to be cast in. ) It also seems while they picked up the proper aesthetics, they lost a lot of the meaning of the film.

Aristotle Full Throttle has his takeaways from this film. See what he has to say in typical Aristotle fashion.

 

Raw

Genre: Horror, Fantasy, Drama

An indie-horror film about the evils of eating meat. (Not exactly.)  I have a hard time explaining this so I’m going to cite IMDb.com for this one.  “When a young vegetarian undergoes a carnivorous hazing ritual at vet school, an unbidden taste for meat begins to grow in her.”

Could be interesting, but is it for you?  So far, it has received positive feedback by many.

 

Power Rangers

Genre:Action/Adventure, Fantasy

Starring: Bryan Cranston, Elizabeth Banks, Bill Hader

I’ll admit that I enjoyed this remake more than most. It had fun action scenes, I was into the humor most times.  I didn’t love this interpretation of Rita. It was deeper and better acted than I ever expected.

Here is my review of this one. I had a blast and I know several others who did too.

https://andrewthemovieguy714.wordpress.com/2017/03/23/movie-review-power-rangers-mighty-morphin-time/

As usual, Jeremy Jahns and I see eye to eye. Check out his review for a second opinion.

 

Kong: Skull Island

Genre: Action, Adventure, Fantasy

Starring: Tom Hiddleston, John C. Reilly, Samuel L. Jackson, John Goodman, Brie Larson,

Been  a lot of movies to discuss so I will keep this one simple. This film is flawed, but still has some merit. It deepens the lore and the world building for future films.  The Monsterverse lives! (Hopefully that is a good thing.)

Review for those who love Jumpcut reviews.

https://jumpcutuk.com/portfolio/kong-skull-island/

Here is my take on the film.  You can have quite a discussion about it and I loved that aspect.

https://andrewthemovieguy714.wordpress.com/2017/03/22/movie-review-kongskull-island/nre:

 

A Sense of an Ending

Genre:Drama

A film hat has little feedback right now, but has an overall sense of intrigue to it. About a man who is haunted by his past which causes him to rethink his current path. Will it change or will he continue making mistakes?

 

The Belko Experiment

Genre: Action, Horror, Thriller

Director: James Gunn

Stick to Guardians of the Galaxy, Mr. Gunn.  I’m kidding. This film isn’t that bad, but it isn’t in the style I would prefer. Not for everyone and it has an identity crisis.

 

The Zookeepers Wife

Genre: Historical, Drama, Biopic

Starring: Jessica Chastain (Always a win.), Daniel Bruhl.

A historical tale of a woman who rescued Jewish families from the treachery of the Nazi’s and their genocide by hiding them in her zoo within Warsaw, Poland.  I think is a fine story worthy of being shared with the world. (Especially in light of how that world is today.) May not fire on all cylinders, but definitely worth a watch at some point in time.

 

Personal Shopper

Genre: Drama, Mystery, Thriller

Starring Kristen Stewart (aka HOW DOES SHE KEEP GETTING WORK?) A unique ghost story told through the setting of the Paris fashion underworld.

I always give a shout out to the good people of Jumpcut whenever they produce something interesting. Like the following review.

https://jumpcutuk.com/portfolio/personal-shopper/

 

LIFE

Genre: Science Fiction, Horror, Thriller

Starring: Jake Gyllenhaal, Ryan Reynolds, Rebecca Ferguson

I was not jazzed about this film. Felt like a knock off of Alien (1979) mixed with Prometheus (2012). I would rather watch those instead. Though, it has earned itself some positive feedback and I won’t deny that.

Here is Aristotle Full Throttle talking about Life. He is quite entertaining, so I hope you will check him out.

 

Song to Song

Genre: Drama, Music, Romance

Drama: Terrence Malick

Starring: Ryan Gosling, Rooney Mara, Michael Fassbender, Natalie Portman, Cate Blanchett,Val Kilmer (That’s right, Val Kilmer.)

A drama featuring an amazing cast with solid directing. It is one of those smaller films which have been widely overlooked by many ()including myself). (So is Gosling going to do only musicals now or music related films?)

Jumpcut review is out for this one. Is it worthy of your view? Read more inside to find out.

https://jumpcutuk.com/portfolio/song-to-song/

Just Making It:

Wilson

Genre: Comedy

Woody Harrelson keeps making those movies that are funny for only a niche market. Not terrible, but not great for most.

 

The Boss Baby

Genre: Animated, Comedy

I dragged myself to see this and while I didn’t love it. I didn’t hate it as much as I thought I would. The humor went low too often, but it could have been much worse.  As for Mr. Baldwin, stick to playing 45 and put this idea to bed. Forever!

 

Rotten

Table 19– I had high hopes for this one, but Table 19 turned to be no misnomer.

Catfight (2016)- With a film featuring Sandra Oh, Alicia Silverstone, Anne Heche, and Titus Burgess, you would think it would be funnier and overall better. It isn’t.

Chips– Another buddy cop film that makes The Other Guys (2010) look like Shawshank Redemption (1994). If I couldn’t convince you NOT to see this movie. Maybe the awesome Jeremy Jahns can.

Atomica- Yeah, I didn’t watch it and if you were of the unfortunate ones. I’m sorry.

All Nighter– A movie so bad, you’ll lose sleep over it.

Blackcoat’s Daughter (2016) It is rare you find good horror. This is proof of that.

 

Leave a Reply

