Movieguy Selections of April 2017

April 2017

I sometimes tear apart a movie like it was a bad guy in Logan (2016). Still, At heart I am always rooting for a film to be good. April has arrived and as you know, that is an unusual time for film. Where the biggest and best blockbusters haven’t quite arrived, but you may find yourself with a few surprise hits.  Last year we had The Jungle Book, what will it be this year?  (Fate and the Furious?)

April 7th, 2017

Smurfs The Lost Village – Proof that studios mostly care about making money and little else. The first two films were dreadful. I know a few people who enjoyed them. (I’m guessing ironically because they were so awful.) I will say it seems like a good move to make this mostly or fully animated this time.  This movie doesn’t look great, but compared to how atrocious the others are, it could be of some value. Trust sources tell me this is going to be alright, but still not great.

MV5BMTg1NjgyMTYzM15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMzIxNDc4MDI@._V1_SY1000_CR0,0,674,1000_AL_.jpg

 

Going in Style

Genre: Comedy, Crime

Director: Zach Braff

Starring: Michael Caine, Morgan Freeman, Alan Arkin

I am a sucker for older actors doing comedy, so when I heard about this. I was immediately intrigued despite the knowledge that many of these movies suck.  Add in the fact that Zach Braff (Scrubs, Garden State) is directing.  I happen to enjoy several of Zach Braff’s films more than most. (They aren’t all good, but few of them are truly awful.)  This film looks fun to me, maybe even good.  I’ve been waiting for a really nice comedy. Could this finally be it? I have my doubts because it is April and I’m not even sure comedy has that potential anymore. I hold out a speck of hope for this film.

MV5BMTc5Mzg3NjI4OF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwNzA3Mzg4MDI@._V1_SY1000_CR0,0,674,1000_AL_.jpg

Colossal- Interesting concept for a dark comedy about mental illness. I like the thought and I hope the film proves decent to good. Starring Anne Hathaway and Jason Sudeikis.

Gifted – Chris Evans is back to save the day, but this time is in a much more personal role. This film is about  an intelligent young girl who is in danger of being locked away from society and abused for her talented brain. Evans who plays her father doesn’t want that life for her. He wants her to grow up embracing life and its many other gifts. She is her daughter, not some freakish genius to gawk at.  Seems like a touching drama, directed by Marc Webb and starring Chris Evans, Jenny Slate, and Octavia Spencer. It’s a film that probably won’t get the financial box office numbers, but be rewarding in other ways.

 

April 14th, 2017

Fast 8: The Fate and the Furious (Fast and Furious 8)

Director: F. Gary Gray (Straight Outta Compton)

Genre: Action/Adventure, Thriller (Semi-fantasy)

Starring: Vin Diesel, Charlize Theron, Dwayne Johnson, Jason Statham, Ludacris, Kurt Russell, Michelle Rodriguez, Helen Mirren, Scott Eastwood

I’m annoyed that this film even exists. No Paul Walker/ little interest. However, these films are action packed candy and nothing more.  They make mega millions and sometimes billions. Have fun at the CGI-fest. (I will note how these films made for pure “fun” so often get a pass, while others which mimic B-movies aren’t so fortunate. Why is that?)

I will wind up watching this film because April is a slow month, but it better be worth it. This franchise is out of control and overrated. Still, the last couple have been drastically improved.

Watch this silliness

 

Spark – Think Rock Dog back in February, but in April instead.  The animation looks lazy, but it does have Patrick Stewart. So, maybe better than Rock Dog? One would hope. A shame that we have so many bland, unoriginal animated movies in the first half of this year (more coming). What a shame.

 

The Lost City of Z– A historical drama which dissects the life of Col. Percival Fawcett as he ventures into the Amazon jungle in search of a lost city  (El Dorado?) only to be never found again. (Probably eaten by something or someone.) Another lower budget film that doesn’t look terrible. I hope some people go out and watch it.

 

April 28th, 2017

The Circle

Genre: Drama, Sci-Fi, Thriller

Starring: Tom Hanks, Emma Watson, John Boyega, Bill Paxton (RIP), Karen Gillan, Patton Oswalt

The Circle is about a cult, I mean company which seeks complete power and knowledge over their employees and the people they “work for”. The American/Global public.  I’m not feeling this film, by no means do I suggest it will be terrible. Perhaps it is because of the nature of the film and things will come to make sense later. Though I guess I can appreciate this film to  target and speculate (mildly) on the power of brands such as Apple, Google, or even Facebook.

 

 

How to Be a Latin Lover

Genre: Comedy,

Starring: Salma Hayek, Rob Lowe, Rob Corddry, Michael Cera, Kristen Bell, Rob Riggle, Raquel Welch,

This seems to be a silly comedy, but it also has a good cast. The trailers have made me chuckle and I’m hopeful it will be entertaining to watch. Like I said before, comedy has really suffered in the last decade. There are few quality comedy films out there. Can this deliver enough laughs?

2 thoughts on “Movieguy Selections of April 2017

Leave a Reply

