Year of the Movie 3: March Edition

 

I love movies and i get excited each month for a few. Others, I just want to torch.  Without further delay, here are the movies I’m pumped for and others taht I have serious doubts about.

March 2017

March 3rd, 2017

MV5BMjI1MjkzMjczMV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwNDk4NjYyMTI@._V1_SY1000_CR0,0,676,1000_AL_.jpg

Logan

Genre: Action, Adventure, Science Fiction, Drama

Director: James Mangold

Starring: Hugh Jackman, Patrick Stewart

IMDb: 9.2 of 7,000+

I’m totally pumped up for this one. For me it is one of the biggest releases for the year. I am a long-time fan of Wolverine. He speaks to me on a higher level than most because of the various connections to we have to one another. This film’s trailers were profound and almost prophetic to me. The buzz on this film is that it is very violent (most violent comic book film ever) and a character drama. I am in and I will be presenting my review with the good folks of JumpcutUK.

This trailer is pretty brutal, maybe even NSFW. You’ve been warned!

 

The Shack– I know this is a christian themed film and while I may have some christian influences. I’m not always about these types of movies.  Perhaps this could be powerful, but it looks hokey and overall not too grand.

Table 19 (Limited)- The story of the “loser” table at a wedding.  Here is hoping this one gets a wider release. There is potential for this to be the first quality comedy of 2017. (Been a while since we got a really good comedy not named Deadpool.)

 

 

The Last Word-(Limited)

IMDb: 7.0of 70 ratings

Another comedy drama that I thought looked interesting. About an older woman known for being problematic and coarse who wants to shape her legacy in a different direction. I don’t expect it to be hilarious, but it could be light-hearted and still make some poignant emotional points that I can respect.

 

March 10th, 2017

MV5BMTUwMzI5ODEwNF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwNjAzNjI2MDI@._V1_SY1000_CR0,0,674,1000_AL_.jpg

Kong: Skull Island

Genre: Action, Adventure, Fantasy

Starring: Tom Hiddleston, Samuel L. Jackson, Brie Larson, John C. Reilly, John Goodman

It is a reboot of King Kong which will now place him in the Monsterverse with Godzilla. So they will eventually fight (or team up to fight something else). What to make of this movie? Looks like a mix of action and comedy. That can work very well. I wouldn’t want a movie about a giant gorilla be taken too seriously, but the right mix could be brilliant.  It has a great number of talented veteran actors I respect. This could be a late winter gem.

 

March 17th, 2017

 

 

mv5bmtuwnjuxmtm4nv5bml5banbnxkftztgwodexmdqzmti-_v1_sy1000_cr006741000_al_

Beauty and the Beast

Genre: Fantasy, Romance, Musical

IMDb: 7.1 of 131 ratings

Starring: Emma Watson, Luke Evans, Ewan McGregor, Josh Gad, Ian McKellen, Stanley Tucci, Kevin Kline, Emma Thompson,

I’m mixed about these recreations of classic animated Disney movies. On one hand, I very much enjoyed The Jungle Book (2016), and I have a mild bit of excitement for Aladdin and The Lion King as well.  However, I also value new and original storytelling in film.  I suppose as long as Disney continues to create new material, I’ll be accepting of these live action films.   As for Beauty and the Beast, I’m not super excited for it. The film looks alright, although based on the trailers, the CGI is not up to the high standards of The Jungle Book. (The beast looks so strange and not quite right to me.)  Beauty and the Beast is a trip into the fantastic and I’m hopeful it works. Or maybe not, so hard to figure out. i will say, they put together a fine cast for it and it is Disney. While it may not be incredible, it likely won’t be dismal either.  What is your stance on all of this?

 

T2: Trainspotting 2

Genre: Drama

Director: Danny Boyle

Starring:Ewan McGregor,

IMDb: 7.8 of 14,000+

I watched Trainspotting and while I found the production value of sound quality, I was never enamored with it.  Now the crew is back and people are saying good things about it. However, I still have absolutely no interest in it.  If you enjoyed the first one, chances are you will like this one as well.  Though I have little interest in it, I still will watch it at some point.

 

 

 

MV5BMTA5MzU1NDI4NzBeQTJeQWpwZ15BbWU4MDUxMDQ0NDEy._V1_SY1000_CR0,0,674,1000_AL_.jpg

March 24th, 2017

Power Rangers

Genre:Action, Adventure, Science Fiction

Starring: Bryan Cranston, Elizabeth banks, Bill Hader

The Power Rangers for me were very cool in the mid-1990’s, but I grew out of it fairly quickly. Especially after that first movie came out and was not very good. Ivan Ooze was a bit too campy even for the wee lad I was.  This movie is bringing back that cheesy humor which I’m grimacing about.  The action looks pretty cool and there is a major nostalgia factor going on.  I am aware it will likely not make me a fan of the franchise again. That this is not the Power Rangers of old, but that doesn’t mean I can’t find enjoyment in it.  I love most things Bryan Cranston does these days and Elizabeth Banks as Rita looks quite cool. (Though nothing beats the original.) I hear they want to make seven of these films, let’s start with one and see how that goes.

 

Life– I’m sorry, I know a lot of people are excited for this one, but I’m not. It has a quality cast and I doubt it will be terrible. However, I feel it is rehashing a mix of Alien (1979) and Prometheus (2012) and I’d rather watch those instead.

Wilson– Woody Harrelson has another movie coming out. An eccentric comedy (seems to be mostly what he does these days). I have almost no opinion about it, but I hope it is good all the same.

Red Band Trailer-

 

March 31st, 2017

Ghost in the Shell– I’m still annoyed about this film’s casting decisions. It does look visually spectacular. Also, I still have a problem with taking a talented Scarlett Johansson and making her look more Asian with CGI.  If you want an Asian character, maybe pick an Asian actor for the role.

The Boss Baby – Last year we were all given a given an amazing array of good to great animated films.  Boss Baby does not appear to be this.  I am hopeful it surprises me and turns out better than expected, but I’m doubtful.

The Zookeeper’s Wife

Genre: Biography, Historical, Drama

Starring: Jessica Chastain, Daniel Bruhl,

Always good to see a historical story about unknown heroes becoming known. I liked that it happened with Hidden Figures and I appreciate someone making this film now. Jessica Chastian is almost always a win and this film looks heartbreaking, but quite good to me.

 

Leave a Reply

