A Sunshine Award Nomination

sunshine-blogger-award1

I’m late on this one, but I wanted to give acknowledgement to someone awesome and answer her questions. So here I go.

 

I’m ecstatic to tell you all that I’ve been nominated for a Sunshine Blogger Award, by the wonderful Reel Red Reviews. You can check her out here- https://reelredreviews.net/

While we don’t always agree on movies, I always respect her opinions about films because she clearly presents her reasons good or bad for not liking a film.

The Sunshine Blogger Award is a chain-letter project designed to honor the bloggers that bring the most sunshine into our lives, and consists of eleven fun questions that nominees must answer before they design their own questions and nominate up to eleven other bloggers that bring sunshine into their social media feed!

Here are the questions I was asked and the answers.

  1. What would be your dream job (disregarding worries about pay or scheduling)?
  2. What are some of your favorite childhood films?
  3. As an ode to Barbara Walters: If you were a tree, what kind of tree would you be?
  4. What’s your least favorite film genre?
  5. Which whimsical sitcom character do you most relate to? Or, if you’re not a sitcom fan, which character of any genre?
  6. What’s the last movie you watched, and was it any good?
  7. If you follow the Oscars, what do you think has been the biggest snub of all time?
  8. Who is your favorite movie love interest (you cannot cite “The Notebook)?
  9. What movie are you most looking forward to in September?
  10. What sayings or personal mantra do you live your life by?
  11. Are you a cat person or a dog person?

 

What would be your dream job (disregarding worries about pay or scheduling)?

Well I am partly living my dream job as a published author. I’ve published America in Twilight: Not Quite True Tales and Poems Through America and it has been successful. I plan to continue writing and publishing more hopefully in the next year. I know that is a tough thing to reach, but my ideal would be to live off of what I make from my published works.

2- Favorite Childhood films.  The Neverending Story, The Lion King, Aladdin, The Princess Bride, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles (1990) to name a few.

3- Ferrah Fawcett in Cannonball Run (1981) said  “You know what I like most about trees…you can lie under them on a moonlit night with the breeze blowing…and then *ball* your brains out!”  Does that relate to the question? Kind of. My answer would be a mighty Redwood in the Northwest.

4 My least favorite movie genre.  I would have to say War. Because often times these films depict war as either glorious battle where heroes are made and or brutal hellscapes of blood and guts.  I am not a supporter of war in general. My history degree ensured that I am well aware of the brutality of it.  I don’t need a reminder to how horrific war is.   As for heroes and the making of men.  I believe many troops to go and fight for American ideals are heroes.  However, I don’t prescribe to the antiquated notion that men are made through death and violence.

5- Marshall Erickson from How I Met Your Mother.  I like to think of myself as professional, hardworking, but also somewhat goofy.  I also happen to prefer a single life partner who I love with all I have over a faceless mass of people.

6- Everybody Wants Some (2016) and it wasn’t great, but there were aspects of it that were masterful. Linklater has such talent in crafting a period piece with a great script. I have to give him respect for that.

7- The fact that Michael B. Jordan wasn’t nominated for Creed, but Sylvester Stallone was is an injustice.

8- Love Interests in movies.  That is tough. in concept only: John Wick, because he was willing to give everything up and live out his life in peace with the person he loved.  It was only when those things were taken away did he go on a rampage.   As for actual, I suppose this is cliche, but Wonder Woman. I prefer woman who are strong independent. They live by a code of honor and treat all people as equals. I think Wonder Woman encompasses all of this and more.

9- The Magnificent Seven, I generally have a distaste for remakes. I don’t even think this particular one had to be made, but it does look quite fun and stars Denzel Washington and Chris Pratt, two of my favorite actors.

10- Have compassion and respect for all who live.

11- Both actually, I love aspects about each. Though I will say I think dogs have a more complex personality than cats.

2 thoughts on “A Sunshine Award Nomination

Leave a Reply

