Movies That Shaped Me

If you are a cinephile, then chances are movies have had a huge impact on your life. They have inspired and memorized you at times. They have brought you into new worlds and shown a variety of other points of view beyond your own.

I will discuss the movies that have impacted my life. I hope you too will share your thoughts.

The first films I watched in theaters happened to be Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs (1937) and Peter Pan (1953). Even at a very young age, these movies didn’t pull me in.  I actually recall falling asleep in them.  Perhaps I was just a bit too young then.

The first movie  I actually loved and watched start to finish in theaters was The Little Mermaid (1989).  I loved this movie, the animation was beautiful.  The songs were entertaining and the characters would be remembered for a lifetime.

The Little Mermaid became something special to me. Because as I grew older and into a teenager, I could relate to some of Ariel’s hopes, dreams, and angst.  (Though I was not looking for a prince to marry.)  Then into my twenties where I could watch The Little Mermaid and feel the nostalgia wash over me with its cooling waves. It was as a young adult where I truly realized how awesome this movie is for all the reasons I mentioned above.

Then you have Ursula who is just a memorable and almost lovable villain.   I remember the first time I saw her near the end (Spoiler in case you haven’t seen it) where she grows to a monstrous size.  That was the first time in a theater where I felt fear and danger. Ursula was freaking scary and I don’t think I want to meet the  5 year old that would disagree with that.

Anyways, this was my first movie going experience. It is a film that has stuck with me all my life.

How about you?  What was a film that was the first to stick with you? To make an impact and have you say, “Wow”?

 

Leave a Reply

