Movie Review: Dirty Grandpa: Why Did I Watch it?

MV5BMzk0NzkyNDk2M15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwNDczOTU3NzE@._V1_SY1000_CR0,0,657,1000_AL_.jpg

Dirty Grandpa (2016)

Genre:Comedy? (I thought comedies were humorous in some form.)

Starring: Robert De Niro, Zac Efron, Aubrey Plaza, Dermot Mulroney, Danny Glover

Rotten Tomatoes:11%  and 46%  (11% feels right, if even a little high. 46% may have not seen this movie sober.)

IMDb:  6.0 of 51,000+ ratings  (Way to high, this movie does have talent, but fails to be funny at all. Dare I say laughless?)

A young professional (Efron) takes his low-brow Grandfather on a road trip where things go terribly wrong and a bit right.

 

What I Don’t Like

The comedy has poor timing and seeks only to gross you out. It is just raunchy joke after joke with little life to it. The movie is so over saturated with raunchy gags and jokes, any that could have landed fall flat.

This movie didn’t seem that good, but I decided to give it a chance. It was even worse than I expected.

I enjoyed Robert De Niro in The Intern (2015), he was on his A-Game in that film. Best thing about it and the humor wasn’t terrible either. However, this film must have been a really nice check. It is disheartening to see one of the greatest actors of all time do yet another flaming trashboat of a movie.

This movie is predictable. Within the first 10 minutes you know everything that is going to happen. Why bother watching the movie?

 

What I liked

If you like scantily clad men and women. This is your movie, we get Zac Efron naked and Aubrey Plaza pretty darn close. If you like to see attractive celebrities in the buff or near that? Then sure check out this movie.

Robert De Niro and Zac Efron can work together if with a talented script. There is something there.

Conclusion

I regret watching this movie. I don’t mind some raunchy comedies sometimes, but I need more to them than just jokes. Give me something else! I wanted at least a few laughs, but I found none. Perhaps I’ve grown too old for raunchy humor. Or perhaps I just need it at a higher quality.

I’m not doing a ladder because the movie really sucks. It doesn’t belong on any list except worst comedy of the year.  As for a trailer, I am not subjecting anyone to that either.  Sometimes you can tell you are going to dislike a film just by the trailer alone. This was one of those times.

Leave a Reply

