Movie Review- Sausage Party (2016) I don’t even know what to tell you.

 

MV5BMjkxOTk1MzY4MF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwODQzOTU5ODE@._V1_SY1000_CR0,0,674,1000_AL_.jpg

 

Sausage Party (2016)

Genre: Animated, Comedy

Starring: Seth Rogen, Edward Norton, Jonah Hill, Kristen Wiig, Bill Hader, Salma Hayek

IMDb: 7.5 of 4,000+ ratings (Acceptable, but I feel it’s a bit too high still)

Rotten Tomatoes: 83% (too high) 7/10(Feels right), 71% audiences enjoyed (Feels right)

 

Sausage Party is about a supermarket full of food. They believe that if they get chosen by the gods (humans), they are going to a great place. Then comes the question if that really is the case or not.

I want to say that I saw the trailers and didn’t find them funny. I had little to no interest in seeing this movie, but a friend of mine who is leaving for a long time wanted to see it. So I joined in and went for a viewing. In the end, aspects of this movie underwhelmed greatly, while other parts of it really impressed me.
I’ll say this, if you enjoyed the trailer. You’ll probably enjoy this movie. If you didn’t. DO NOT WATCH THE MOVIE!!!

What I Didn’t Like

The humor in this movie was very underwhelming for me. It was very raunchy, very bold, and unfiltered. Sometimes I like that a lot, but something about this movie. I didn’t find the violence, drug use, and excessive sexuality enjoyable. I didn’t think I would based on the trailers, but I was hoping their would be a mix of different comedy. There was no mix. It was a comedy that fell flat with me almost entirely (minus a couple of things). (Sometimes you don’t have to watch a movie to know it isn’t for you.) This was one of those cases. However, a lot people were loving this movie and that’s fine. Just I couldn’t get behind it.

The characters were stereotypes, but that was kind of the point. It was all part of the humor and with a valid reason. This aspect of the film just didn’t win me over.

What I Did Like

I found the underlying message of the movie to be important. It was a movie filled with symbolism. Yes, you can take it at face value and not look deeper. (I suppose find something there.) However, looking beyond the absurd and at what they were actually saying happened to be beautiful.  The deeper meanings are powerful and original. I have a great deal of respect for this film to bring something up that is so very bold. It works better in the form it took so that it was less preachy about it, too. It was a unique, it was layered, it was very well put together. This film maybe didn’t win me over with the comedy, but I appreciated the message.

Conclusions-

I can’t say I enjoyed the humor in this movie because I didn’t. However, I did find the movie to have an interesting and deeper message. It was very original and they presented things in a unique manner. I may not like the movie in all, but I can respect it. I will say that if you enjoy total unfiltered raunchy humor. Go and watch this movie in all its messed up glory. If you are like me and don’t feel that stuff as much. Stay home or watch something else.

 

The Ladder

I don’t even know where to put this film in any kind of ladder. It is a Seth Rogen film and I did enjoy aspect of it. I have no idea what to tell you.

This trailer is NSFW (I guess)

You have been warned.

 

5 thoughts on “Movie Review- Sausage Party (2016) I don’t even know what to tell you.

  1. I expected a lot more from it. It felt really lazy. The concept and themes were good and then they just rode that without anything other than the stereotypes, which got really old really quick.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

