Star Trek Beyond (2016) Third Time is The Charm They Say

star-trek-beyond-poster-international.jpeg

Star Trek Beyond (2016)

 

I liked it.

 

Okay, bye.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Just kidding. Having some fun with you.  I do it because this movie is quite fun.

 

Star Trek Beyond (2016)

Genre: Science-fiction, Adventure, Action

Director: Justin Lin (Fast and Furious 6)

Starring: Zachary Quinto, Anton Yelchin, Chris Pine, Zoe Saldana, Idris Elba, Simon Pegg, Karl Urban and John Cho

 

I was ready for a big blockbuster movie which I have been denied for the last two months. I wanted to have some fun. Even more so for Star Trek fans. They’ve suffered losses. The beautiful icon that was Leonard Nimoy and then most recently the sudden and tragic death of young Anton Yelchin. Add that to the mixed feelings (at best) about Star Trek Into Darkness. You wind up with a group of very loyal and wonderful fans who need to have some fun and enjoy a film.

Plot

Once more the USS Enterprise and its amazing fleet head out into the unknown to attempt to bring peace and unity throughout the universe. Coming across a new danger which threatens to dismantle everything that the Federation stands for.

 

What I Didn’t Like

The first act of this movie was rough to watch. The amount of shaky cam was not appreciated. It hurt my eyes, it hurt my head. If I had anything in my stomach, I would not have been very happy. Also, the same can be said of the scanning shots. They were trying to get a sense of the enormity of the situation. How vast things were and it was sickening (on the technical level).

There were a few things that were left dangling at the end of this one. A couple stories or elements that were not really resolved or understood. (Can’t say more without spoiling)

There were a few shots where the special effects weren’t quite up to par. Though it was taken care of at later points in the movie. Still, those few moments of average CGI were noticeable.

What I Liked

I can’t say I loved all of Lin’s directorial decisions in this film.   However, there were a few tough things that they touched on and it worked where in many other films they would have been cheesy. Took some unique approaches and I respect and enjoyed it because of that. (I saw things that I never really seen before in this film and I liked it.)

The cast in this film really shines brightly to me. That core group of Quinto, Pine, Saldana, Urban, Yelchin and Pegg, It breaks my heart that Yelchin has passed away because even though he isn’t one of the two key characters like Kirk and Spock, he always added something to the scenes. Really, they all did and that is a special thing. To have secondary but still important characters make an impact on you.  Once again, Spock and Captain Kirk are the driving characters in this film and the dynamic of their relationship (friendship) excellently stated.

The writing in this was awesome. I feel that Simon Pegg who co-wrote the screenplay was able to incorporate a good amount of humor without losing the focus of Star Trek. I understand that some may not like his humor or his involvement, but since I am a newer fan of this franchise. It doesn’t bother me at all. If you are loyal to the first series primarily. Some of this movie could rub you the wrong way.  However, if you are able to embrace the new style and open to change (Change is hard to adjust to when you love something so understand those who can’t.), you will have fun with this one.

 

I was impressed with the amount of emotion on display in this movie. The ideas that I feel these various characters represent are presented beautifully.  There are some great lines and wonderful sentiments which I adhere to.

The villain known as Krall who was played by Idris Elba is among the best that I’ve seen in a while. I could understand his side of things and actually felt bad for him. I find the best villains are ones that you may not approve of their actions, but you have a certain level of empathy for. I felt for Krall in some way.

The musical score may not be iconic, but it fit the movie. It was at times quite lovely to listen to. As for the special effects, with a few exceptions, they were spot on.

Kudos to the writing staff of this movie Simon Pegg and Doug Jung. They were able to work heart, humor, and some dark moments into this film with great effectiveness.

Conclusion-

This was the blockbuster film of the summer I have been waiting for (Minus Civil War which was good.) It was funny, it was loaded with action. Many of the special effects were beautiful. The musical score was pleasant and not jarring. The cast did a wonderful job again. I really love the chemistry of this group of actors. It was not afraid to pull some bold moves to give us some heart.

I think this is one of the top two summer movies of 2016 so far.

The Ladder-

Star Trek is special and I don’t like to compare it to others. This franchise has inspired many others and for that reason.

Star Trek Beyond (2016)

Star Trek (2009)

Star Trek Into Darkness (2013)

As for Leonard Nimoy and Anton Yelchin

Thank you again you beautiful souls for what you brought to this world.

Trailer

 

One thought on “Star Trek Beyond (2016) Third Time is The Charm They Say

Leave a Reply

