Year of the Movie? July 2016

2016 The Year of the Movie 2? July 2016

July 1st

The BFG (I’m old and corrupted so I kept reading that as Big Fucking Giant……oh, they meant Friendly. Ah, yes, that will do)

Genre: Adventure, Fantasy, Family

Director: Steven Spielberg

Starring: Rebecca Hall, Bill Hader

IMDb: 7.3 of 1,000+ ratings

Opening first is Spielberg’s latest film, BFG (Big Friendly Giant). I was a little surprised to see Spielberg take on this movie. He has largely stuck to historical dramas lately, so this will certainly be a change of pace. This story is from the imaginative young adult writer Roald Dahl. About a a big friendly giant who befriends a little girl and together they go on this adventure of sorts. (Can only say so much without spoiling it.)

I am mildly interested in this film, the reception is generally positive (though not best movie of the year level). It is targeted for a younger audiences and I hope they enjoy the film. There may also be some nostalgia for people who grew up reading and loving the story.Spielberg is an incredible director and I won’t bet against him.

 

The Legend of Tarzan

Genre: Action, Adventure

Starring: Alexander Skarsgard, Margot Robbie, Cristoph Waltz, Samuel L. Jackson

IMDb: 7.4 of 754 ratings

The story of Tarzan which is once more being retold for a new generation. I see the trailers and they look decent. I can’t say I have much excitement for this film. I guess it is because I know how many times this has been done. What can they bring to this story that hasn’t already been told? Do I hope it works very well? Of course, but right now I just don’t have that care for it.

 

July 8th

The Secret Life of Pets

Genre: Animated, Adventure, Comedy, Family

Starring: Jenny Slate, Albert Brooks, Kevin Hart, Louis C.K. Eric Stonestreet, Hannibal Buress

IMDb: 6.7 of 1,600+ ratings

I was kind of excited for this film, but the less than stellar early reviews really doused those flames. The aspects of the film which worried me, seem to be an issue. The film looks colorful, there seem to be some great jokes in the film, but also some of those low caliber jokes. (When you can’t write a joke, have someone break wind or soil themselves and you win I guess.) I’m hoping that this movie isn’t terrible, but I won’t hold out too much.

 

Mike and Dave Need Wedding Dates

Genre: Comedy

Starring: Zac Efron, Aubrey Plaza, Anna Kendrick, Stephen Root, Adam DeVine

Here is the latest gross out comedy of 2016. I can appreciate some dirty humor now and then. I loved This is the End (2013), and have enjoyed both Neighbors films. I think that Aubrey Plaza is talented, and I simply love the energy Zac Efron brings to just about any film he takes on. Especially comedies.

I have my doubts about this film. I think it may wind up stupider than it should be and wasting the talented cast at its disposal. Maybe I’m just getting older, but these raunchy comedies are too common. Mix things up now and then mainstream studios!

 

Captain Fantastic

Genre: Drama

Starring: Viggo Mortenson, Frank Langella

IMDb: 8.2 of 455 ratings

A unique film going experience (independent films keep life running through film). About a large family living in the forests of the Northwest. They live, learn, and endure many hardships and some triumphs along the way. In the end finding new meaning to their lives in the process.

This film is the most intriguing of the month for me. Interesting premise, some talented actors in the mix. I do hope there is some comedy to it. Sometimes a drama will take itself too seriously and it hurts the film. However, I feel this will hit the right balance for people.

 

 

July 13th

The Infiltrator

Genre: Biography, Crime, Drama

Starring: Bryan Cranston, John Leguizamo

About a U.S. Customs agent who uncovers a money laundering scheme involving Colombian drug lord Pablo Escobar.

This film is made for people who like Bryan Cranston (because he is an awesome actor). I feel like he will some of his Breaking Bad style of acting into this one. A mild mannered guy who gradually gets more involved, the danger rising ever higher. I don’t think it will be a major hit, but I think it has a chance to be a respectable movie that people can enjoy watching.

 

July 15th

Ghostbusters

Genre:Comedy, Science-Fiction, Action

Director: Paul Feig

Starring: Melissa McCarthy, Leslie Jones, Kristen Wiig, Chris Hemsworth, Andy Garcia, Kate McKinnion

Minor spoiler if you can call it that- Appearances by- (Sigourney Weaver, Bill Murray, Dan Aykroyd, Ernie Hudson)

The movie so many love to hate for a variety of reasons. Some because sexism is a thing and others because they just can’t handle another remake of a classic franchise. For me, I’m hopeful. I have seen the trailers and aside from that first one, it looks decent. I’m not about to say it is hilarious, but nor does it look end of the world bad. I have liked Paul Feig’s previous films like The Heat, Bridesmaids, and Spy. Granted those had an R rating to work with. This movie has such a name where that can’t be the case. The remaining original core cast is returning for at least some role. This movie has made marketing mistakes, it has lacked clarity on whether it is a remake, sequel, reboot whatever. In the end, I think the movie will be alright. I’m not expecting it to be award winning, but considering the immense amount of hate it received early on. I’m thinking it will be better than what the haters were hoping for.

 

 

July 22nd

Star Trek: Beyond

Genre: Action, Adventure, Science-Fiction

Starring: Chris Pine, Anton Yelchin (RIP), Zoe Saldana, Idris Elba, Zachary Quinto

Star Trek is back! This is a highly anticipated film for Star Trek fans. However, I’m getting the feeling that fans are concerned or less hyped in large part due to the very mixed reception of Star Trek Into Darkness (2013). (I thought it was alright, but I was hoping for good.) I really hope this film is going to be a step up for Star Trek because after the loss of a legend in Leonard Nimoy, and recently in June the young Anton Yelchin, Star Trek fans need some positive vibes. I’m interested in this film, I’ve not hated either of the previous two, but I want this to take the franchise to new heights. New director, new writer, so hope is alive in well as it should be.

 

 

 

Ice Age- Collision Course– Stop making these movies! For all that is good in this world. Let this franchise die! I enjoyed the first one, the second one had its moments, but it has been a sinking ship. An awful, disgusting, juvenile sinking ship. Let the talented voice actors move on to better things already. Ugh!

 

Lights Out

Genre- Horror

IMDb: 9.0 of 383  ratings

A creature that only comes out in the dark. Yawn. I’ve seen it a million times and this will make a million and one. The film looks scary, but a lot more jump scares albeit effective ones. This film is far from original, but James Wan is involved. Earlier this year, I dubbed him the new king of horror. So anything which he is somehow affiliated with has a chance to be good. (The early reception for this one is quite strong) I already dubbed him king of horror. So there is hope for yet another Wan connected horror film to be a solid hit.

 

 

July 29th

Jason Bourne

Genre:Action, Thriller

Director: Paul Greengrass (Bourne Ultimatum, Captain Phillips)

Starring: Alicia Vikander, Matt Damon, Tommy Lee Jones, Julia Stiles

The franchise onslaught continues with Jason Bourne. As you probably figured, Jason Bourne for the Bourne trilogy has returned. Why is back and what is his mission? This movie is probably the one I’m hyped for more than any other film coming out in July. First off, all the Bourne films (the real Bourne films with Jason Bourne in them) are pretty great. They brought back Matt Damon and Julia Stiles. Then you add Tommy Lee Jones and Alicia Vikander. What an amazing cast! How about director Paul Greengrass who seems to just only make good or above average films. (Check for his Director Who segment later in this year.) The trailers look pretty exciting. Yes, franchise films can become tiring after a while. However,if you have an interesting character, a talented cast, and a great director with a proven track record. I see no reason why you can’t have another hit.

 

 

Bad Moms

Genre:Comedy

Starring: Mila Kunis, Kristen Bell, Jada Pinkett Smith, Christina Applegate, Emjay Anthony, Kesha

Another comedy that feels very much in the same vein as Sisters (2015). It has a talented cast, but feels over the top raunchy and tired. I’m tired of the raunchy comedy that is more flash than substance. It seems that it is all we are getting now. Where are the great comedies these days? Why can’t we have another Planes, Trains, and Automobiles, Get Shorty, My Cousin Vinny, Austin Powers, Zoolander, or Mean Girls. (Yes, I know we got sequels to some of those, but not what I meant.) A lot of talent in this film, I hope it proves me wrong. I love a good comedy, I’ve been waiting for one. I’ve seen funny, I’ve, decent, and even good comedies, but I want a great one. Will Bad Moms deliver?

Leave a Reply

