Movie Review-Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out of the Shadows (2016)

teenageposter.jpg

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out of the Shadows (2016)

Genre: Action, Adventure, Comedy

Starring: Megan Fox, Will Arnett, Stephen Amell, and of courser the heroes in a half-shell

The Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles are back and I was so excited for this film. I’m not sure why I was because honestly I found the 2014 film barely tolerable. (I could watch it for the very few positives, but not with glee.) However, this movie based on trailers felt better than the original. That it would provide the fan service to the new generation (it’s main demographic I’m guessing 7-13 year old) and also have enough service in there for the old school fans.

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out of the Shadows is about Shredder who is now out of jail and teaming up with Commander Krang to flesh out a master plan. The turtles and company have to come in and try to stop these two from succeeding or face dire circumstances.

What I didn’t like

Some of the humor was really low-brow. Like traditional Michael Bay fart jokes and stuff. That just doesn’t interest me, even when I was a child.

This movie also needs you to shut off your brain a good amount. Don’t think in terms of the science in this movie or the actions within. It’s like Fast and Furious franchise for kids.

There were a couple of fights I wanted to see last a bit longer or an actual confrontation that never happened, that left me unsatisfied in that area.

Your mission should you choose to accept it is to just shut up and enjoy a cartoon come to life. Accept it for what it is and you too will enjoy the film.

Finally, a couple times, things wrapped up a bit too cleanly. I understand having a resolution of sorts, but I was hoping for more structured changeover.

What I did Like

This film is much more turtle-centric. I felt the last time that Megan Fox and Will Arnett had way too much screen time. They are in the film, but with a much smaller role this time around.  They made way for plenty of turtle time.

Even in the first film, I liked how these turtles worked together, their various personalities. I felt this film was more true to this than the previous one. Especially at the end.  There was a more complex conversation, better expression of their personalities, along with some very serious discussion. I loved that they at least entertained a unique idea.

Shredder wasn’t a transformer in this film. He was a bad dude with an awesome Shredder suit. Much cooler than the first film. His foot clan were actually ninjas now (not just guys with guns) and that was vastly improved as well. The addition of Beebop and Rocksteady was pretty darn cool. Sure, they were stupid and colorful, but they worked for the film. I wouldn’t want an ultra-serious and mopey version of TMNT.

I actually liked Megan Fox and Will Arnett more in this film (because they weren’t in it as much). Arnett especially, he wasn’t needed so much, but they used him in a far better manner this time around. As for Fox as April O’Neill. She did a decent job once again. I actually don’t hate her in the role. She gives the film some star power and she is beautiful.

Master Splinter was a jerk in the first film, he didn’t provide much useful advice. He was just a douche and I loathed him. However, in this film, he was more fatherly, more the wise old leader I loved in the cartoons and 1990’s films. (The 1990’s Splinter is still better, but this one is improving.)

The action scenes were pretty awesome and I was thoroughly entertained throughout the film.

The ending fight was a bit redundant of the last film, but I still enjoyed it. It also had some darker implications and that was cool too. The things I questioned in the trailer and worried about were answered in a positive manner.

In the end, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out of the Shadows is the far superior film of the two in this rebooted franchise. It is not a great film, it is stupid, and if you think too hard, you may wind up hating it.  However, for me, it was a step up and it was entertaining throughout.  It added a lot of interesting new characters, used older characters better, and had some great action scenes.

If you can give up a little about the Turtles from the 1990’s that you hopefully loved. Then you can enjoy this film and appreciate that a whole new generation gets a decent Ninja Turtles movie that you can share with them.

If you are a fan, or have young fans of this franchise, then you should go see this movie. If you aren’t a fan, best to avoid this.

 

Where does this one go on my list of Turtle films?

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles (1990)

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out of the Shadows (2016)

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles II: Secret of the Ooze (1991)

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles (2014)

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Movie Review-Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out of the Shadows (2016)

Leave a Reply

