The Year of the Movie 2? June Edition

2016 The Year of the Movie 2? June 2016

May 2016 turned out pretty awesome.  How about June?  Let’s see what is coming out worth mentioning.

June 3rd

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 2: Out of the Shadows

Genre: Action, Adventure, Comedy

Starring: Megan Fox, Will Arnett, Tyler Perry, Brad Garrett

IMDb: 6.8 of 1051

This is actually the film I’m most excited for in June. I’m not sure why. The first film back in 2014 was alright. It had some positive things to it, but also some terrible things. I guess it is the hope of my inner child which wants to see a fun action film starring those lovable turtles once again. The original made a ton of money despite being average at best. This film is adding more characters we know and love like Casey Jones, Krang, Beebop and Rocksteady. It looks like a fun time and that is as far as I can say for now. As for a plot, a new dangerous threat calls the turtles into action again. Can they save the city?

 

Note- Andy Samberg has some comedy coming out this week. It looks…. not so good. I expect the turtles to dominate this weekend.

June 10th

The Conjuring 2

Genre:Horror

Director:James Wan

Starring: Patrick Wilson, Vera Farmiga

The Conjuring (2013) is one of my favorite horror movies in the past fifteen years. You are going to have to wow me if you want to step up from there. This film looks pretty good. I trust James Wan to make a quality horror film. (He only made Saw (2004), Insidious (2010) and The Conjuring. He’s pretty much kept the horror genre alive in the mainstream sense. The film looks scary, but I’m concerned by how much CGI I’ve seen in the trailers. I hope it isn’t overkill. Horror to me is something that unsettles me, not so much disgusts. If it goes the gory route, I’ll likely check out. Still, any movie which discusses the Warren’s and their contribution to paranormal research. I’m intrigued.

 

Note- Now You See Me 2– (The fact that this movie is not call Now you See Me: Now You Don’t already makes me hate it. Relax, I’m kidding.)

2016 is quickly becoming “The year of sequels nobody really asked for.” Now You See Me (2013) was your average crime-comedy with magic. It was predictable, mediocre, and a touch tiring. For some unknown reason, it got a sequel. I guess someone needed a paycheck. I’m not looking forward to this one. Nothing about this film says I should invest time in it. So I won’t beyond this. Moving on.

Warcraft

Genre:Action, Adventure, Fantasy

Starring: Travis Fimmel (Vikings)

IMDb: 8.0 of 20,000+

I never played World of Warcraft. Although I did play Warcraft and Warcraft 2 back in the day. I guess they are somewhat related. They’ve been working on this film FOREVER. As of right now, the majority of reviews and ratings I’ve read gave it a very positive score. So, I’m hopeful it will be a good video game movie (Can such a thing ever exist?) I imagine they want to turn this into a large franchise, but honestly I’m not seeing it. I can see a good movie or two, but not five. (Studios tend to overshoot.)

 

 

June 17th

Finding Dory

Genre: Animation, Adventure, Comedy

Starring: Ellen DeGeneres, Albert Brooks, Idris Elba, Bill Hader, Diane Keaton, Ty Burrell, Ed O’Neill

Another Pixar film is coming out. (Does that mean we have to give them the Oscar already?) This time is is the sequel to the immensely popular Finding Nemo (2003). I liked Finding Nemo, but I didn’t love it nearly as much as other Pixar films. (Perhaps it is because I was no longer a child when it came out, but rather a young man.) It was good, but never choked me up. It was funny, but never hilarious. This film feels like another cash grab for Pixar. Aside from Toy Story series, their sequels haven’t shown much promise. With Finding Dory it is 13 years after the original film and that generally doesn’t bode well for a sequel. The trailers for this film look decent, but not must see. I expect a fine turnout for the film. Just not thinking it will exceed the quality of Finding Nemo. (Though I do love Ellen, so I hope it does well if only for her.)

 

Central Intelligence

Genre:Comedy, Crime

Starring: Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson, Kevin Hart, Amy Ryan, Aaron Paul

I’ve been waiting for a really funny comedy to come out. I’ve not seen a hilarious movie in theaters in a long time. (I’ve seen funny, but not laugh out loud funny.) When I see this movie. I’m not expecting greatness. I expect yet another mediocre comedy that won’t suck, but won’t be great. It feels like this is Ride Along 3 except we replace Ice Cube with The Rock I’m sorry, Dwayne Johnson. (So much more fun to say The Rock.) That is just what I’m feeling, I’m not going to crash the movie until I see it (or at least get substantial amount of reviews telling me it is a waste of time.) Will The Rock make the comedy the year, (Currently, It’s Deadpool.) of will this be another forgettable, regrettable film. (I love Kevin Hart comedy specials, but haven’t been feeling his movies.)

 

Note- Swiss Army Man– If you are a huge Daniel Radcliffe fan. Maybe you’d be interested in his new adventure comedy. It may be too indie for most people. I’m mildly interested.

June 24th

Independence Day: Resurgence

Genre: Action, Adventure, Sci-Fi

Director: Roland Emmerich (That guy still makes movies!)

Starring: Jeff Goldblum, Liam Hemsworth, Bill Pullman, Vivica A. Fox, (No Will Smith though)

Why didn’t they release this movie on July 4th weekend? It seems a waste to not do that. It’s a movie called Independence Day! (The original did it!) Anyways, for some unknown reason, there is an Independence Day (1996)sequel. Don’t get me wrong, Independence Day was a sweet action movie. I loved it in the 1990’s, and still enjoy it today. Now you give me a sequel 20 years later, without Will Smith (the guy who only played the best character in the original) and I have questions. Could the film be good? It looks a lot better than I expected it to be. Of course, this film could be awesome! Still, plenty of questions arise about the cast, the continuity (Didn’t that scientist guy die in the original? What’s up with that?) My belief stands that if that a sequel comes out beyond 11 years after the first one is generally going to be a bad movie. I await a movie that proves me wrong and this could be it. Will Independence Day: Resurgence break the mold or follow suit? We have to watch and find out.

 

Free State of Jones

Genre: Action, Biography, Drama

Director: Gary Ross (Pleasantville, The Hunger Games)

Starring: Matthew McConaughey

Historically, we know how this one plays out. However, Matthew McConaughey has been hitting gold every time out these days. So, if he thought the script was worth his time, then there is at least a chance this could be a pretty solid movie. Also worth mentioning, Gary Ross has made a couple awesome movies like The Hunger Games (2012) and Pleasantvile (1998).

 

 

Note- Wiener Dog– A comedy about a wiener dog (dachshund)who travels around the country spreading love, comfort, and joy. Do you need another reason to watch this film? How about Danny DeVito? To be fair, I’m not certain this film would be any good. It is cute for a short film idea, but I’m unsure about a feature length movie. Still, it’s a cute premise.

One thought on “The Year of the Movie 2? June Edition

Leave a Reply

