Movie Review: Captain America: Civil War

8-questions-captain-america-civil-war-needs-to-answer-893088.jpg

Captain America: Civil War (2016)

Genre: Action, Adventure, Science Fiction, Fantasy

Starring: Chris Evans, Robert Downey Jr, Scarlett Johanson, Chadwick Boseman, Don Cheadle, Sebastian Stan, Elizabeth Olsen, Anthony Mackie, Jeremy Renner

It was opening night and I managed to see Civil War in a sold out showing on Thursday.  I had incredibly high expectations going in. I wanted this movie to impress me and take Marvel down a new path. I wanted this film to invigorate my passions for the superhero genre.   In the end, I wound up with a good film that did some of those things (but certainly not all).

What I didn’t Like

Right off, there was a lot of moving pieces in this film. It had so much going on, that it reminded me of Dawn of Justice in many ways. Several storylines intertwining very quickly (another film that could have been 3-4 hours long).

While it is better structured that Batman v Superman, it suffers from some of the same issues. Trying to build the future of Marvel Universe instead of just getting down to this film.

The humor didn’t often hit with me. Especially in the first half of the film.  It lacked that bite I hoped it would have for much of it.

The other big issue with the film is that they have an abundance of downtime.  Scenes where the characters are doing nothing (or flat out brooding). I felt this time could have been used for either a bit more action or some more character development.

The film also had a nasty habit of jumping around. A couple times I couldn’t tell in which order they were happening scene to scene. Again, the story-line was cluttered and at times confusing because of it.  (Though they did connect the dots a bit better than BvS)

The conclusion is powerful, but also a bit messy. I am okay with some questions being unanswered, but there seemed quite a lot. A lot of grey in there at the end.

The villain of this film works, but is also rather pathetic.   He is a minor side-note to the real story.  I think using a slightly more well known figure would have helped more. Or at least making this character more interesting.  He didn’t stand out at all.  I understand he was a tool to get to one place to another, but he was so bland to me. Also, while the ending was very good, they had potential for an impressive ending which was spoiled.

Finally, there were two end credit scenes. One was pretty good, but the other was very disappointing.

 

What I liked

While the film has some issues, there is a lot to like about this film.   Both Chadwick Boseman as Black Panther and Tom Holland as Spider-Man excel.  I think this is the best Spider-Man I’ve ever seen. (His dynamic with certain characters is perfect.) Boseman brings his own serious tone to this film (a welcome change).  I think the addition of these two really make this movie shine.

The variety of superheroes we have seen before play out well together. We learn more about all of them, their hopes and fears.  I loved seeing the various dynamics between the variety of characters. I felt Tony Stark and Stephen Rogers chemistry was complex and that made it awesome. There were so many layers to this relationship.

Whichever side you are on in this fight, if you don’t waver slightly in any point of the film. You may need to ask yourself some serious questions. (Like are you that stubborn?)  This film unleashes some hard truths about a couple of these characters that we may not want to think about. Also, it brings out the reality of what the world would be like if superheroes were real.  (For many, it would suck something fierce.)

This movie changed Marvel and its direction completely. It alters the course to something new and fantastic.  The Russo Brothers did a very good job using all these different pieces well to form a movie and push towards the future of the Marvel brand. (Looks like it is setting up a different and fascinating Phase 3.)

The action is crisp and lives up to the expectations of this film. It looks good, it has dark moments, but also not afraid to have fun (it’s a comic book film after all).

In the end the action was awesome. The big fight we all wanted may be the best fight I’ve ever seen in a movie. (Superhero wise).  The new additions are perfectly cast, the older characters still have secrets to share, demons to conquer.  The climatic battle is heartfelt and painful to watch. It broke my heart to see.

This movie did not live up to my high expectations, but there was still a lot of good to it. I’m excited and ready for Phase 3 and that is the goal of this film.  Success!

My rating. 

I enjoyed Captain America: Civil War and believe that if you are a fan of what Marvel has already done, you definitely should see this movie.  Is it a must see? No.  Still, with some awesome action scenes (including the most epic of fights), some game changing to the Marvel lineup (great new additions). This movie takes Marvel into phase three in an interesting and new form. I’d be very curious to see how they move from here on out.

Where does it fall in the Marvel spectrum?  (Multiple hero films)

The Avengers

Captain America: Winter Soldier—————-Captain America: Civil War

Avengers: Age of Ultron

 

3 thoughts on “Movie Review: Captain America: Civil War

  1. I liked this one better than you did. It just worked for me in most aspects. Right now, I’ll say it’s the best MCU film, but I realize I’m still on a sugar high from seeing it this weekend. I do agree that we should get some really interesting movies going forward. Great review.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

