Movie Review: Hello, My Name is Doris

Hello_My_Name_is_Doris.jpg

Hello My Name is Doris (2015)

Genre: Comedy, Drama

Starring:  Sally Field, Max Greenfield, Tyne Daly, Isabella Acres, Beth Behrs, Stephen Root

Hello, My Name is Doris was a comedy film I’ve been searching around. After a couple weeks, I finally found it and was able to see a delightful film.  If this film reinforced anything, it is that Sally Field is a terrific actress.

Hello, My Name is Doris is about a middle aged woman named Doris who lives with her mother.  After she passes, Doris is left wondering what the next stage of her life is.  Then comes in the cute, charming, and young professional named John (Max Greenfield). She sheepishly falls in love with him at first sight.  The only issue is John is (I’m guessing) 25-35 years younger than her. Can love overcome age when it comes to a generational gap (or two)? This movie explores this subject in detail.

What I Didn’t like. 

There’s not much to hate about this film. The ending isn’t quite as satisfying as I’d hope, but it works well enough. The possibilities are endless, but I left with a positive feeling about Doris’s future.

What I Did Like.

Sally Field was amazing. She plays this complex person who is strange, out of touch, but still quite likable.  She has fears, faults, strengths, and potential for growth.  This wasn’t some flat character, but a living person and I think this film did that so well.

There is certainly some that could relate it to Ben Stiller’s remake of The Secret Life of Walter Mitty  (2013). I enjoyed Walter Mitty, but I felt Hello, My Name is Doris was far more down to earth and therefore believable.  The writing really shines, the jokes are not dumbed down, but still effective. (This film’s style is delightfully quirky just like Doris)

The surrounding cast is wonderful in this field. Max Greenfield plays the likable Jason Fremont. We get to see that he is also more than just a cutout piece of eye candy, but a well- developed character with some history.

My favorite of all the secondary characters was definitely Tyne Daly as Roz. Also worth noting is that Isabella Acres did a fine job as the youthful talent in this film. Often times when there are younger actors in films, I tend to cringe.  Acres was stable and believable. She had good poise on screen that was clearly well above her peers in this film. (Though she had far more screen time than them as well which likely helped.)  Also, Stephen Root (I couldn’t place his face, until I checked IMDb- Milton from Office Space). He has an interesting role in the film and while he wasn’t the most likable character, I respected him. (His wife (Wendi McLendon-Covey) in the film pissed me off plenty though. So rude!)

This movie is funny, but it has moments of seriousness, and even moments of despair.  You have a film that makes you chuckle, but also shed a tear.  Field is so effective on both of these levels and that’s what makes this film marvelous.

The music, the overall writing, the feel of Staten Island and New York City. Even the hipster like culture portrayed all felt authentic and effective.

Conclusion- If you enjoyed Secret Life of Walter Mitty (2013), but wanted something more believable, then I’d suggest you look into watching Hello, My Name is Doris.  It may not having you rolling with laughter, but it certainly was delightful and humorous. Tons of talented actors male and female on screen and complete with an overall positive message.

My rating

Loved It

Liked It- I liked the film and I’m certainly glad I went to see it.  Sally Field has such emotional range and overall talent as an actor. She alone is worth the ticket price. The cast is spectacular and all the little details that make a good film are checked in the affirmative.

Leave It

(Impossible…………….I’m  possible.) Great line!

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Movie Review: Hello, My Name is Doris

Leave a Reply

