2016 The Year of the Movie? March 2016 Edition

2016 The Year of the Movie? March Edition

March is the time where movies start to look better. Often bigger budgets and bigger stars. There are even a few wonderful films in the mix as well. Let’s see what March 2016 has to offer.

My thought is that if you aren’t the least bit excited for March 2016, you may not be a movie fan.

March 4th

Zootopia

Genre: Animated, Adventure, Comedy

Starring: Jason Bateman, Idris Elba, Bonnie Hunt, J.K. Simmons, Shakira

A con artist fox and a rookie police officer bunny must team up to uncover a conspiracy.

This movie has been on my radar for some time and the reviews have been so far rather impressive. It is made by Walt Disney Animation which is a company I trust for quality animated movies. This has a chance to be the best or among the top animated movies of this year. So if you are a fan of animation. (I love it!) Then please check out this movie in early March.

IMDb: 8.1 of 5,556 ratings

London Has Fallen

Another sequel that few if any asked for. Olympus Has Fallen (2013) wasn’t great enough to prompt a sequel. This is just shameful attempt to get more money out of people and it will probably work.

Whiskey Tango Foxtrot

Genre: Comedy, War

Starring: Margot Robbie, Tina Fey, Billy Bob Thornton
A journalist recounts her wartime coverage of events in Afghanistan and Pakistan.

Tina Fey is very hit or miss with me (mostly miss). This film doesn’t look terrible, but doesn’t exactly inspire me either. If you like movies starring Tina Fey, then you may have a good time. Otherwise, not recommending this film for anyone else at this time (subject to change)

March 11th

10 Cloverfield Lane

Genre: Drama, Mystery, Sci-Fi

Starring: John Goodman

A young woman finds herself in the basement of a man who claims he rescued her from a “chemical attack” which has left the outside world “uninhabitable”. The truth may be more disturbing as they may discover.

I didn’t enjoy Cloverfield (2008), I hated the shaky camera. I didn’t care about the characters, and was bored through much of the movie. (Yeah, they tease, but the show near the end wasn’t fulfilling.) I have heard rumors about this film for years. I suppose the original film is still relevant (it’s been eight years). If you loved the original, you may want to check this one out. If you are like me and didn’t like it. You can likely pass on this one.

The Brothers Grimsby

Genre: Action, Comedy

Starring: Sacha Baron Cohen, Penelope Cruz, Rebel Wilson

A top cop teams up with his hooligan brother in a new investigation.

This film looks (and is meant to be) incredibly crude and stupid. If you like the ultimate low brow comedy which Cohen is often known for, this is the comedy of the year for you. If you like something with some depth, some intelligence, then avoid this one at all costs.

(For the record, it is perfectly fine to like a all-out stupid comedy like this. Just I don’t. So if you see it, enjoy.)

Eye in the Sky (2015)

Genre: Drama, Thriller, War

Starring: Helen Mirren, Aaron Paul, Alan Rickman

IMDb synopsis- A military officer in command of a drone operation to capture terrorists in Kenya sees her mission escalate from “capture” to “kill” just as a nine-year old girl enters the kill zone.

I know very little about this movie, but I see it has a brilliant cast. Features some of the last work by Alan Rickman. Also stars the amazing Helen Mirren. If you like a tense war drama, then you’ll probably enjoy this well enough.

IMDb: 7.5 of 186 ratings

Hello My Name is Doris

Genre: Comedy, Drama

Starring: Sally Field

IMDb- 7.6 of 127 ratings

A sixty-something woman is inspired to seek romance in a much younger man with quirky results.

I love a good quirky comedy. I also have a lot of respect for Sally Field as an actress. The trailer made me chuckle several times. So if I can find this film, I surely will watch it.

March 18th

The Divergent Series: Allegiant

Genre: Action, Adventure, Sci-Fi

Starring: Shailene Woodley, Zoe Kravitz, Theo James

IMDb synopsis- Beatrice Prior and Tobias Eaton venture into the world outside of the fence and are taken into protective custody by a mysterious agency known as the Bureau of Genetic Welfare.

The best thing about these movies is Shailene Woodley. She has proven herself several times to be the best actor associated with this project. I think she will eventually move on to bigger things and I hope so. (Also in Snowden later this year). If you have been enjoying these movies so far, I hope you continue to do so. However, if you are tired of young adults needing to save the world and don’t want to see it. By all means avoid it.

Midnight Special

Genre: Adventure, Drama, Sci-fi

Directed by: Jeff Nichols

Starring: Adam Driver, Michael Shannon, Joel Edgerton

After discovering his son has special abilities, a father takes his son on the run with him.

I absolutely love Mud (2012), I consider it a modern American classic. So I trust Jeff Nichols to create something heartwarming and or thought-provoking. For now, I’m interested in seeing where this goes.

IMDb: 7.2 of 328

March 25th

Batman V Superman: Dawn of Justice

Genre: Action, Adventure, Fantasy, Science Fiction

Director: Zack Snyder

Starring: Ben Affleck, Henry Cavill, Jeremy Irons, Amy Adams, Jason Momoa, Ezra Miller, Jesse Eisenberg, Laurence Fishburne, Gal Gadot

Unless you are completely against DC in all forms, you have to be at least a little intrigued by the concept of Batman v Superman. I mean the cast is questionable, but possibly great. There has been hundreds of rumors about the villains (We have Luthor and Doomsday, but I’ve heard Darkseid and Braniac as well.) How much of this movie will have these other superheroes? I’ve heard the rumors of standing ovations, I’ve heard the praise. However, I could also see this film as being overloaded with ideas. So cluttered with villains and stories that the focus which should be Batman v Superman (at least 70% of the film) that we lose sight. I believe that this movie is going to work, but it will also divide people. I enjoyed Man of Steel (2013).  I know, how could I? I’m a monster (or just okay with changing Superman to fit a more modern world), the film certainly had its issues, but I feel this movie will tie in well. I curious to see what DC can do with this universe. How will it differ from Marvel?  Can’t wait to see what comes of it. 

My Big Fat Greek Wedding 2

Genre: Comedy

The beloved family reunites for another big fat Greek wedding.

I enjoyed the first film back in 2002, I enjoy the fact that they brought much of the same cast from the original movie back. However, it has been 14 years since the last film. Why do we really need a sequel? It feels like a rehash of the original movie, same jokes, same premise. I suppose the film can be fun, but not expecting to be original or great. It’s going against Batman v Superman and that is probably a good idea. It has everything that the superhero brawling film won’t have and will sure to bring in some people for sheer nostalgia factors.

 

Leave a Reply

