A Look Back: The Weekend That Was

maxresdefault

My guides

(Movie Viewers and Critics) IMDb

(Primarily Critical) Rotten Tomatoes

I added no box-office results for movies in limited release.

Box Office Champion- The Revenant  16 million  (Over 235 million gross worldwide)

 

Dirty Grandpa

I said: Don’t See it!

IMDb: 5.8 of 1,953

Rotten Tomatoes: 7%  2.5/10 and 53% liked it.

Suggesting that some people did enjoy the film, but nearly half didn’t.

The actually weekend box-office-11.1 million-  4th place

 

The 5th Wave

I said: Pass on it

IMDb: 5.7 of 6,004 ratings

Rotten Tomatoes: 18% 4.2/10 and 51% enjoyed the film

Almost half the viewers of this movie didn’t like it.  Even those who did, weren’t exactly impressed. Seems a good choice to skip this film.

Box office- 10.3 million (6th place)

 

The Boy

I said: I laughed at the very thought of this film. It seemed unimpressive. Pass on it.

IMDb: 6.8 of 1,489

Rotten Tomatoes: 26% 4.2/10, 52% Enjoyed it

It seems critics hated the movie while more casual or loyal horror fans enjoyed it. I’m expecting this to drop further in it’s rating on IMDb. I still think the movie was horrible, Because there was a group out there that liked it. I’ll say I was wrong.

Box office- 10.7 million (5th)

 

 

Synchonicity (2015)

My call: I said be wary of this film, but it could be interesting. To wait on it.

IMDb: 5.5 of 408

Rotten Tomatoes: 45% 5.3/10, 32% enjoyed the film.

Vast majority hated this film.  If you passed on it. Seems you were wise to do so.

 

 

Exposed

My call: Pass on it. Keanu Reeves drops the ball sometimes. This is one of those.

IMDb:4.7 of 1,014

Rotten Tomatoes-  NA/  21 % of audience enjoyed this film.

Keanu Reeves, I know you can be awesome, but not this time.

 

Mojave

My call: Pass on it.

IMDb: 5.4 of 577

Rotten Tomatoes: 28%  4.7/10, 34% Enjoyed the film

Another bad January movie. Not surprised.

 

 

My pick of the week

Ip Man 3

IMDb: 8.0 of 2,802

Rotten Tomatoes: 83%  6.4/10  85% Enjoyed the Film

Certainly looks like Ip Man 3 was the best movie to see this weekend.  IF you weren’t snowed in and liked the last two, you probably enjoyed this one as well.

 

Leave a Reply

