The Rewind: Toy Story 2

Toy Story 2 (1999)

Genre: Animation, Adventure, Comedy

Starring: Tim Allen, Tom Hanks, Joan Cusack, Kelsey Grammar, Don Rickles, Jim Varney, Wallace Shawn.

There was a time not long ago that I thought it a joke that some considered Toy Story 2  among the best animated movies of all time. I watched the film when it came out and I enjoyed it, but I didn’t think it was greatest ever.

Then I rewatched it as adult and it blew me away with how incredible it was.  The animation quality is still top-notch (for its time). What struck me so powerfully was the character development, humor, heart, and overall storyline. (It’s not all fun and games to be a toy.) This movie had everything you could hope for in an animated comedy.

The movie is about Woody, he is stolen by a toy collector, and the other toys vow to rescue him.  Meanwhile, Woody learns of his origins, and finds his possible future interesting.  He needs to decide between the history he left behind, versus the present he has built and his personal connection to Andy. Which path will he choose?

I may still question whether this is the greatest animated film of all time.  However, I think given how well everything was put together within the film. I can respect anyone for thinking it was among the great ones.

 

 

Leave a Reply

