The Rewind (1990s) As Good as it Gets

As Good as it Gets (1997)

Genre: Comedy, Drama, Romance

Director: James L. Brooks

Starring: Jack Nicholson, Helen Hunt,  Greg Kinnear, Cuba Gooding Jr.,

Won 2 Oscars

As Good as It Gets is about three very different people who form a unique friendships after series of events.  There is the tactless, mean-spirited, germophobic (and then some) writer, a goodhearted waitress with a very sick son, and an injured gay artist with a lovable little dog.

As Good as It Gets is a great drama from the late 1990’s featuring a great cast and excellent characters. This is one of my favorite roles Jack Nicholson ever played (though it kind of seemed he just played himself). The character interaction stands out for me as it’s very complicated. These characters go on this emotional roller coaster ride together because of the events that befall them.  The movie mixes down to earth comedy and drama together into one film.

The movie isn’t very heavy on philosophical concepts, but makes you feel good.  I think there is nothing wrong with feeling satisfied or even joyous after finishing a film and this movie does it better than most for me.  I connect with Melvin Udall some because I too am a writer (one published story, novel in pre publication phase). I’d like to say I’m not nearly as insulting, but I understand the troubles of writers block, the need for silence, having a strict routine. I too can be neurotic as well and have phobias both simple and complex.   What I like about Mr. Udall is that we see glimpses of the better man he could be, but it’s not something that happens immediately.

This is one of my favorite comedy dramas from the 1990’s, with a great cast, interesting characters, and good writing. This is a keeper.large_iQ8xiJmLsS0EoH3DhX0YdrbmRu3

One thought on “The Rewind (1990s) As Good as it Gets

Leave a Reply

