31 Days of Horor: Donnie Darko (2001)

Donnie Darko (2001)

Genre:Drama, Sci-Fi

Starring: Jake Gyllenhaal, Maggie Gyllenhaal, Patrick Swayze  (Crazy Swayze- had to say it.)

Alright, I’ll admit this is stretching the genre of  horror a bit.  However, it has an overall creepy tone to it and that demonic space rabbit was certainly some wild stuff out of a horror film.  (Yes, I’m aware he isn’t exactly a space rabbit, but let me just enjoy calling it that..)

Donnie Darko was a commercial flop, but it has since become a cult classic. About a troubled teen (looks like the lead singer of Green Day in the 1990’s) who commits a series of crimes after barely surviving a bizarre incident with a plane incident.  He is being guided by this evil looking rabbit (demon space rabbit).to do these things. The whole film winds up on a wild mind trip by the end of the film. (Happens to be Halloween night. )

I’ve never loved Donnie Darko, but as I grow older, I see aspects of the film I really like. I do think it is creepy, there is a unique philosophy to it. It has strange factors I love mixed into it.  Not nearly as bad or irritating as I once thought it. Some movies over time because much better or worse and this was one of them.  (Vanilla Sky on the other hand I still hate the same as I did before. )

What did you think of Donnie Darko?

Leave a Reply

