New Releases for September 25th, 2015

New Releases for September 25th, 2015

Hotel Transylvania 2

Genre: Animated, Comedy, Family

Director:  Genndy Tartakovsky

Starring: Adam Sandler, Kevin James, Mel Brooks, Andy Sandberg, Selena Gomez, Rob Riggle, Dana Carvey, Molly Shannon, Fran Drescher, David Spade, Steve Buscemi,

IMDb: 7.6 of 385

Rotten Tomatoes: 38% 5.1/10

I was excited for the first film in this franchise, but that one let me down. I believe an animated movie can delight both children and adults.   Despite that setback a few years ago,  I was still interested in seeing this second one be created because I like Genndy Tartakovsky’s work when I was younger. Things like Samurai Jack and Dexter’s Laboratory have fond memories. I understand that this film going to have a younger audience and therefore simpler sense of humor. I dread what Adam Sandler is going to do next. IMDb has suggested the movie may be pretty good, wild Rotten Tomatoes paints a very different thing.  I’ll say this, if you liked the first one, you will like the second.

The Intern

Genre: Comedy

Starring: Robert De Diro, Anne Hathaway, Rene Russo, Nat Wolff,

IMDb: 7.4 of 607

Rotten Tomatoes: 51%  5.5/10 (Is it just me or is RT.com kind of nasty to mainstream films or films by certain companies?)

I like Robert De Niro even in comedy roles, and I don’t hate Anne Hathaway (Never really saw a reason.) I think the movie looks pretty good. A comedy that targets an older audience, but has enough youth to draw in a younger crowd as well.  Written and directed by Nancy Meyers (Something’s Gotta Give/ It’s Complicated).  This film may be a late September gem as far as comedy goes. It doesn’t look too raunchy, but just something clever, sweet, and satisfying.

99 Homes (2014)

Genre: Drama

Starring: Andrew Garfield, Michael Shannon

IMDb: 7.1 of 778

Rotten Tomatoes:89%  7.4/10

A story about a father who endures great personal sacrifice working for a treacherous real estate broker in hopes that he can provide a better life for his family.

Also, I’m hearing that Pawn Sacrifice, Everest, and Sicario are getting wider releases. You may want to check those out as well.

Leave a Reply

