2015: Year of the Movie! September Edition

2015: The Year of the Movie.

2015 in whole hasn’t shined quite as brightly as I would’ve hoped. However, it features some of the biggest box-office hits of all time including three movies grossing 1 billion dollars plus. That’s impressive and has never been done before in a single year.

September begins the Oscar worthy movie period. Some films will actually be worthy of said award, while others will be just placed here in hopes they will make some money for the studio.

Here are my picks of movies to get hyped for, and some movies to probably avoid.

September 4th

A Walk in the Woods

Genre: Adventure, Comedy, Drama

Starring: Nick Nolte, Robert Redford, Emma Thompson, Nick Offerman

A story about two older friends who after returning to America, decide to trek the Appalachian trail together in order to rekindle their fondness for the country and get at its heart.  It’s an adventure movie with a sprinkle of the absurd. The actors involved with the project look great. I can see a film emerging that could be life-affirming. Making us laugh, but also think. (Robert Redford often makes a good film with more to it beneath the surface.)

IMDb: 7.0 of 170

The Transporter Refueled

Genre: Action, Crime, Thriller

Basically…no Jason Statham…no thank you. This movie looks bland and generic. (I’ve seen about three other films this year alone with similar style and feel) The best things about all of the previous movies was Statham doing awesome stunts and fight scenes.  Without them, it may very well be joyless. Granted, audiences may still go for the fluffy action. Maybe, but let’s hope not. The only way movies are going to get better is if audiences stop giving studios money for regurgitated tripe.

Before We Go

Genre:  Comedy, Drama, Romance

Director: Chris Evans (Yeah, Captain America’s directorial debut)

Starring: Chris Evans

IMDb: 7.2 of 4,245.

This is Chris Evans’ directorial debut. The film has been getting decent reviews. I like Evans, I think he is a quality guy that does a lot of good with his fame. So I hope this new direction he is taking in his career will only bring more positives his way.

September 11th

Notables- The Visit– M. Night Shyamalan is back. (He just won’t go away) with a comedy-horror film. I suppose that is fitting because many of his films are so horrible that it’s laughable. Everyone can bounce back, and if so. I’ll watch it and support the man, but start with one good movie in this decade and go from there.

Sleeping with Other People- A comedy starring Allison Brie (Mad Men/Lego Movie), Adam Scott, and Jason Sudeikis. About two people who are anything, but monogamous who somehow form a relationship.

September 18th

Black Mass

Genre: Biography, Crime, Drama

Starring: Johnny Depp, Corey Stoll, Benedict Cumberbatch, Joel Edgerton, Adam Scott,

The first time I saw Johnny Depp as a gangster was in Public Enemies (2009). I honestly didn’t buy his character as John Dillinger. However, seeing the trailers for this movie and I’m impressed. The bits that I’ve seen of this film, make me feel that Depp in giving us his A-game. Something I’ve not seen much of in the last decade (and you probably haven’t either) I think that this movie could be among if not the best crime film of this year.

Notable- Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials. I wasn’t impressed by the first film and I’m not anymore intrigued by the second. It kinda feels like Hunger Games for teenage boys. If you are into that thing. Go nuts! 🙂

Sicario

Genre: Action, Crime, Drama

Starring: Emily Blunt, Jon Bernthal, Josh Brolin, Benicio Del Toro

Back when I discussed Emily Blunt’s career in my Hope For Hollywood segment, I made note of this movie in my future project section. I thought the concept of a FBI agent dealing with the escalating drug war and the various ethical issues which arise from it is a powerful (and somewhat tragic concept) It looks good, it has a solid cast of actors. Depicting something very serious that our world is still having to deal with. I’m interested to see what this movie has to offer.

Pawn Sacrifice (2014)

Genre: Biography, Drama

Starring: Tobey Maguire, Liev Strieber

I’m not a huge fan of Bobby Fischer, but this movie certainly means to portray him as both genius, and flawed individual. I respect that. A game of Chess can be fun, but hard to translate into a movie, but I think this may work just fine for that.

September 25th

Everest

Genre: Adventure, Drama, Thriller

Starring: Jake Gyllenhaal, Keira Knightley, Robin Wright, Josh Brolin, Emily Watson

The story of a group of mountain climbers on Mt. Everest who get trapped in a storm. The party must try to survive and get down the mountain.

It has a great cast and coming out in a good time for this kind of film. It looks like it is filled with drama, intense realistic action (compared to San Andreas), and hopefully some good characters. I’m excited to see what happens with this one.

Hotel Transylvania 2

Director: Genndy Tartakovsky (Samurai Jack/ Dexter’s Lab)

Genre: Animation, Comedy, Family

Starring: Nick Offerman, Mel Brooks, Chris Kattan, Fran Drescher, David Spade, Molly Shannon, Steve Buscemi, Andy Samberg, Kevin James, Selena Gomez, Adam Sandler.

I’ll say this, the movie has a great selection of voices. I’m also willing to give Tartakovsky one more chance at making a good movie. The only problem being that Adam Sandler is in this movie which means he was just getting his paycheck without putting any effort in once again and getting his friends paid. He has become a disgrace to comedy (and in this case to vampires).

The Intern

Genre: Comedy

Starring: Robert De Niro, Anne Hathaway, Nat Wolff, Rene Russo

This seems like one of those rare touching comedies. It has its laughs, but a little more heart than your average comedy. I like Robert DeNiro, I think he is still one of the better actors out there and he may be at his finest in a crime role, he can also pull off comedy. As for Anne Hathaway, I know people don’t always like her, but I think she is very talented. I’m not completely sold on this film, but I hope it isn’t just another Aloha from earlier this year (a film with potential and a talented cast, but never clicks). I’m hopeful for this film.

One thought on “2015: Year of the Movie! September Edition

Leave a Reply

