Rewind (1970’s) 1776 (1972)

Happy July 4th to all my readers in the USA. Here’s a fitting post.

The Movie Guy and Friends

1776 (1972)

Drama/Family/History

The movie that gives us historic founding fathers singing catchy tunes. Starring Mr. Feeney from Boy Meets World…I mean William Daniels as John Adams.

If you recall, I’m not a huge fan of musicals, but I do like history. This was the first musical I watched and I said afterwards, “I don’t hate this.” It is certainly an acquired taste and is best watched around July 4th. It tells the story of the Continental congress trying to vote on independence and the creation of the Declaration of Independence written by Thomas Jefferson.  It’s fluffy history (and I mean the fluffiest kind of fluffy), but the very basics of the characters and accomplishments are accurate.  This movie is fun (and sometimes very strange. John Adams and his wife. What is up with that?) and worth watching midsummer.

What is your favorite Musical?

View original post

Leave a Reply

