(31 Days of Horror) Rewind (1980’s) The Lost Boys

Light Spoilers

The Lost Boys (1987)

Genre: Horror/ Comedy

Director: Joel Schumacher

Starring: Corey Haim, Dianne Wiest, Kiefer Sutherland, Corey Feldman

The Lost Boys is a film about a family consisting of two sons and a divorced mother who move into a small town which happens to have are very high murder/disappearance rate. Between the local youths and this family, they start to believe that the town may be frequented by vampires. The truth is even more disturbing than the rumors.

I know this film has gotten some negative feedback lately, but considering the vampire movies popular today, this movie is The Godfather of vampire flicks by comparison.  It does have humor to negate some of the violence within the movie.

I like that it goes with the more classic version of vampires that you’ve seen in Dracula (1931) rather than the strigoi vampires which have become far more common (because they look more menacing and vile). To me, the classic vampire will always hold a special place in my heart. They are villains (and sometimes antiheroes) that I can really sink my teeth into (Yeah,yeah, I said it, deal with it!).

The movie has classic vampires, the humor still works today even though it is such a 1980’s film.  I also enjoy seeing the two Corey’s working on screen together. I don’t care for what the haters will say. I love this film and I’m not ashamed of it.

Leave a Reply

