The Rewind (1980s) The Princess Bride

Light Spoiler Warning

The Princess Bride (1987)

Genre: Adventure/Comedy/Family/ Fantasy

Director: Rob Reiner

Writer: William Goldman

Cast: Carey Elwes, Robin Wright, Billy Crystal, Andre the Giant, Carol Kane, Peter Falk, Fred Savage, Wallace Shawn, Christopher Guest, Chris Sarandon

The Princess Bride is a story within a story. About a grandfather coming over to read his sick grandson a bedtime story. A story passed down generation to generation.  A story of love and betrayal, kidnapping, sword fights, and attempted murder.

This is my all time favorite movie. No movie can equal this one because of its heart, its humor, and the remarkable cast that made this fantasy comedy one of the most iconic films of all time.  It was truly something special. The movie has such a range of actors playing these incredible roles. Andre the Giant was always my favorite. A massive lumbering beast, his words may be simple, but deep down his heart is pure.

On the surface it is a sweet grandfather who wants to tell his grandson this magical story. Every now and then they cut back to these two having brief discussions about the book and the events occurring within.

This movie has everything I have ever asked for in film. It makes me laugh even though I’ve watched it a hundred times over. A beautiful and romantic idea of true love, great dialog, better jokes and one liners, a brilliant cast, and an imaginative fantasy world.

I know the effects have aged considerably, but I love this film, I may have to go put it in and watch it now that I’ve thought about it. Even in my darkest days, this film can make me feel good inside and out. Very special to have a film that can do that for you.

The best I can say to anyone trying to watch it for the first time is to not be too serious about it. It is meant to be good fun.

Leave a Reply

