Rewind (1980’s) The Blues Brothers

MV5BMTM1Mjk3OTQ0M15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTYwMDA4MTY5._V1_UY1200_CR107,0,630,1200_AL_

 

The Blues Brothers (1980)

Director- John Landis

Writers- Dan Aykroyd/John Landis

Genre- Action/Comedy/Crime/Music

Starring- Dan Aykroyd, John Belushi, Ray Charles, James Brown, Aretha Franklin, Carrie Fisher

This is easily my favorite John Belushi appearance in anything he ever did. The movie is about the Blues Brothers, one (Jake) just out of jail. They learn that the Catholic youth home they were raised is on the verge of being closed for lack of funds.   The brothers decide that they must undertake this “Mission from God” to save the home by getting their band back together and raising the money for the home.

I also consider this the best Saturday Night Live skit turned movie ever made. The movie is ludicrous and it knows it. There are so many different scenes that are memorable to me. The music, the running jokes, the variety of comedy scattered throughout.

What stands out in this movie is the great music and the chemistry of Aykroyd and Belushi on set.  I love classic soul/rock/blues type music.  So, to see the likes of Ray Charles, James Brown, and Aretha Franklin all performing in one movie (I will always dig that soun). That is a must see.

This movie I first watched when I was ten years old.  I loved it, but as I grew older, some of the jokes became funnier, the talent within the movie shined brighter.  A truly iconic film that I hope to cherish for years to come.

The Blues Brothers is a must see movie. If you appreciate soulful music from the 1970’s, if you have an appreciation for good filmmaking. Then you too can get lost in this film.

 

The only question I have is……….how to I not have this DVD?

 

 

Leave a Reply

