Hope for Hollywood-It Takes Two- Chris Hemsworth/Emma Watson

Hope For Hollywood
Chris Hemsworth and Emma Watson
These two actors have the potential to become really big stars, but I want to see more movies from them before I would be completely sold. I don’t think either has peaked yet, Rather than give them each a post, I will combine them together.

Chris Hemsworth

August 11th, 1983- Melbourne, Australia

Star Trek– (2009) George Kirk- This was his first role. Hemsworth role didn’t stand out among so many others, but he didn’t hurt the movie.

A Perfect Getaway (2009) Hemsworth played Kale in this very average adventure thriller about a Hawaiian vacation gone horribly wrong.

Thor (2011)- This was Hemsworth’s breakout role. While I know they went a weird way to get to Thor through a love interest. I did like his portrayal as this comic book character and Norse god because before this movie I thought of Thor as wooden and unspectacular. A character that I have had trouble relating to in any way.  Hemsworth gave new life to an old character and I thank him for that.

Cabin in the Woods (2012)- Not your average horror movie. Not even close. It’s like a funnier, more surreal version of Evil Dead. (Not easy to get more surreal than that.) The movie keeps you guessing, makes you laugh, and was well done all around. Congrats to Joss Whedon’s (among the two writers) ability to infuse humor with horror.

The Avengers (2012)- This movie was awesome. Thor didn’t steal the show in this movie, but he had some amazing action scenes and one liners. More on this film in a later post.

Snow White and the Huntsman (2012)- I think everyone in this movie did a good job at acting except for one. That one was unfortunately Kristen Stewart (close your mouth!) who happened to be the lead in this movie. Suddenly, this movie goes from good fantasy fun to…can we remake this yet?

Star Trek Into Darkness (2013) Again, returning as George Kirk. I thought the first Star Trek movie (you know what I mean) was better than this one. Still, not going to knock Hemsworth for what he did here. Acceptable and I move on.

Thor: The Dark World (2013)- We finally see Thor being much more like Thor we expected in the first film. The movie tried to be funnier than it needed to be. Still, it was decent fun at the movies and Hemsworth and Loki I mean Tom Hiddleston work wonders together.

Rush (2013)- This may be Hemsworth best film to date. I didn’t care for the story so much because I’m not into Formula One racing. If you are a racing fan (especially Formula One style) then you should definitely watch this film. Hemsworth plays James Hunt and I thought he did a brilliant job as that character. It was nice to see him not playing Thor and yet still being great.
Future Projects-
In the Heart of the Sea (2015)- The real life story of the events and people whom inspired Moby Dick. The movie looks pretty good and was directed by Ron Howard. (Rush/Frost/Nixon)

The Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015)- This film looks great. I’m very excited for this sequel.

Vacation (2015)- It’s another adventure involving the Griswold family. Coming out later this year. I’ve not seen much about it. So it may be funny or may be a nightmare.

The Huntsman (2016)- So remember I spoke about that remake of Snow White and the Huntsman? Well….this kind of maybe that second chance. Starring Hemsworth and Charlize Theron. It’s written and directed by Frank Darabont, the man who helped bring us The Walking Dead series. I’m willing to say that as long as K. Stewart doesn’t set foot in the movie, it will be a vast improvement.

Doc Savage (Unknown) Directed by Shane Black (Iron Man 3/Kiss Kiss Bang Bang) and is about something strange. Essentially a doctor named Jesty goes into the jungle in search of a lion. He finds a lion who loves him and this lion becomes more tame and more human while the doctor Jesty becomes more lion, more savage than man. So, like I said, a bit strange, but I won’t knock it completely until I see it.

Thor: Ragnorak (2017)- I imagine this is the last Thor movie. The previous two were okay to good, but not great. I’m hopeful that this movie hit’s the next level and finishes a trilogy off in a good way.

Snoozers, Losers, and Flops

Ca$h (2010)- It’s boring and though it tries to be a comedy. It doesn’t make me laugh.

Red Dawn (2012)- The original version of this movie wasn’t exactly a classic, but they remade it and managed to make it much worse.

Blackhat (2015)- He plays a hacker and the movie just isn’t very good. Hemsworth tries and it almost becomes watchable because of him…but no.

 
Emma Watson
April 15th, 1990

Harry Potter Series- 2001-2011- I would argue that not only was she the best wizard (or was she a witch?) in this film, but she may have been the best of the young acting talents involved in this series. She was superior to Potter in every way, even beyond the screen.
My Week with Marilyn (2011)
The Perks of Being a Wallflower (2012)- I was disappointed with this movie, but anytime I see a kid whining about having an easier life than I did at that age. Hard for me to sympathize. However, Watson was the best part of this movie. She excelled and made the movie viewable.

This is the End (2013) I thought this movie was very funny and very raunchy. I loved the Emma Watson portions of this movie. I like because she isn’t taking herself too seriously. That she can laugh at herself and is willing to do a movie that is fun. Other people who shall not be named (Initials are D.R.) were offered this role and they considered it beneath them. All I have to say to he who shall be named is….can you be in a movie better than this? I’ve been waiting.

 

Snoozers, Losers, and Flops
The Bling Ring (2013- Ugh. My brain still hurts from this one. It’s amazing how sometimes you can see a movie and know from that moment it will be awesome. This is one of those kind of movies.

Noah– While not truly awful, it definitely wasn’t historically accurate in any way and that managed to upset people.

 

 

Future films-
Regression– (2015)- About a father who has been accused of a crime he doesn’t remember committing.

Colonia Dignidad (2015) in Germany- A woman’s search for her boyfriend leads her into the hands of a dangerous religious sect.

La La Land (2015) A love story between a jazz pianist and actress with the setting being Los Angeles.

One thought on “Hope for Hollywood-It Takes Two- Chris Hemsworth/Emma Watson

Leave a Reply

