Arsenic and Old Lace (1944)

Arsenic and Old Lace (1944) directed by the great Frank Capra and starring Cary Grant, James Gleason, and Peter Lorre.  This is easily one of my all time favorite comedies. While I enjoy plenty of classic comedy films, sometimes the humor is a bit dated or too dry for my taste. (I watched and enjoyed Fraiser. If it’s too dry for me, that’s saying something.) However, this film still makes me crack up on multiple occasions.  Cary Grant is wonderful and energetic in this wacky tale. His character, Mortimer Brewster wants to marry his sweetheart Elaine Harper. He learns that his two elderly aunts are not exactly right in the head and that madness runs in the family.  After that, a different type of madness ensues with hilarious results. There are multiple familiar actors and voices in this film and even a pop culture reference to Boris Karloff which is perfect.

 

This is my hands down favorite film of the 1940’s and I strongly recommend anyone checking it out.

 

What is your favorite comedy from the 1940s?

Leave a Reply

