2015- The Year of the Movie: February

February 2015-
February is still a pretty bad month for movies, but you do occasionally get something awesome Last year it was The Lego Movie (awesome!) I think there are going to be several candidates that will turn out to be awesome in 2015.

February 6th- Directed by Andy/Lana Wachowski (The Matrix trilogy, V For Vendetta)

Jupiter Ascending-this movie was supposed to come out in the summer of 2014, but was pushed all the way back to February in 2015. That could be a sign that someone directing or someone in the studio didn’t believe the film could stand up against tough competition. The other fact could be that something needed to be edited or cleaned up better and that the movie is going to more awesome for it. If you haven’t seen the trailer, go check it out. The movie looks beautiful and exciting. The movie has star power to drive it too. The cast includes; Channing Tatum, Mila Kunis, Sean Bean (My guess is his character isn‘t going to make it to the end of this film. Just a hunch.) I’m very interested about this film. There’s also this deeper element involved about human history (it may be fictional, but I like when stories use that type of thing.). It looks like a stunning new sci-fi/fantasy/action flick that I could enjoy and that the Wachowski brothers have finally created another masterpiece.
The Seventh Son– Notables- Writer- Charles Leavitt (K-Pax)
Actors- Julianne Moore (30 Rock/The Hours), Jeff Bridges (Iron Man, Big Lebowski), Kit Harrington (Game of Thrones, Pompeii), Djimon Hounsou (Voiced Drago is HTTYD2/ Guardians of the Galaxy)

This movie was also held back from 2014. I don’t know the reasons exactly for that, but I’ve seen trailers for this movie and I’m interested to watch it. I love Jeff Bridges as that strange character that always seems to have a bit more experience with the bizarre than you. The movie also looks action packed with tons of CGI action (decent to good CGI) and fights. This movie looks like a fun action film with lots of science fiction elements. I don’t expect much philosophical discussions or something with multiple layers out of this one, but I do think it could be a wild ride. The trailers have made me eager to see it. I will say that there is risk over over-saturation of CGI with both Jupiter Ascending and Seventh Son, but I’m hopeful both will provide me with a bit more than visuals.

Kingsman: The Secret Service– Notable mentions- Directed by Matthew Vaughn (Producer of Kick Ass, Lock,Stock, and Two Smoking Barrels, Snatch, The Debt, Stardust.) Directed Stardust, Kick Ass, X-Men: First Class.

Cast- Mark Hamill, Michael Caine, Samuel L. Jackson, Colin Firth (Love Actually, The King‘s Speech)
This movie is a spy action adventure with some comedy. About an old school spy teaching a young hot shot the business. Something is going to happen that will force this young spy into the real deal a bit too early and chances are he will be the one to save the day.  Of course, you’ve seen this movie before, but this looks like a different and more enjoyable style than most. Not every movie needs to take you on a deep spiritual/psychological journey…and this one is just for fun.

Fifty Shades of Grey– I know a lot of people love this “romance” series of books and that they will watch this movie. To me, this is the ever so slightly improvement over Twilight. I like strong female characters who don’t need no man (but okay to have one). So I detest any movie that harkens back to something more traditional where women are submissive or weak.  Granted, there are BDSM elements to this movie and for some that will be appreciated. For some, that will be creepy. I’m not saying that this movie will be bad, but I won’t be seeing it and I would be completely shocked if it was the best movie of the year.

Hot Tub Time Machine 2–  (Story time!)  When I first  heard about Weekend at Bernie’s (1989).My thought was No way is that a good movie. I watched it and thought. That was a funny movie. It worked, but I doubt it could ever work again. Then I watched Weekend at Bernie’s 2 (1993). Surely, they couldn’t find a way to work that story again could they? Turns out, it was awful and I’ve have spent years eroding the memory of watching that film.    Fast forward to recent history when I saw the trailer for  Hot Tub Time Machine (2010). No way is that movie going to be good. I thought again and when I watched it I once more saw I was wrong. The original was funny, raunchy, and a lot of fun overall.  Coming back to the present I saw the trailer for the sequel and thought, I‘ve seen this move before. It doesn’t work a second time.   The trailer to this movie didn’t even make me laugh. I don’t see much hope of the whole movie doing any better. A sequel that should never be right here.  Very often a bad thing when you can’t get the entire cast of the original back on board for a sequel.  (Very bad sign indeed)

 

What movie in February 2015 are you looking forward to?

 

Leave a Reply

