Movies Opening 10/17/14

I apologize for this post being late and for its brevity. Been a wild week of sports. (I cover NHL, NFL, and MLB.).

The Book of Life- Imbd rating- 7.3- This is my pick for movie of the week.  It’s unique animation lured me in, but its cast of voices made it a lock.  This film features the voices of Zoe Saldana, Channing Tatum, Ron Pearlman,and Christina Applegate. You’ll also hear the voices of Danny Trejo, Ice Cube, Gabriel Iglesias, Placido Domingo, and Cheech Marin.  This movie combines these great voice with a very different style of animation that I saw is a cross between computer animation and stop-motion. I can’t quite put it down until I see the movie and I will be seeing this one.  If you have younger moviegoers, this is the film to go see.  If you are a bit older but appreciate beautiful imagery, a nice story, with likely some good feeling moments throughout. Check this movie out.

Fury – Imdb rating- 8.5 I have an issue with war movies that make war seem glorious or honorable if not fun.  Granted, this is only based off of trailers and therefore the movie may have a much different tone. I respect Brad Pitt as an actor, but I’ve a very short tolerance for Shia LeBeouf (Transformers (2007), Surf’s Up (2007), Holes (2003). If you like action/war movies and can get past the Shia factor then by all means go and see this movie. Early reviews are excellent.

The Best of Me– Imdb rating 5.6- This film fits into the Romance/Drama section and as you may guess is probably the worst movie rolling out this weekend.  If you just eat up that sappy romantic storyline and characters. (We all have our guilty pleasures- so I won’t judge you.) Then this is your movie of the week.  For everyone else, see the others films mentioned and that includes The Judge–  https://andrewthemovieguy714.wordpress.com/2014/10/15/the-judge-review-a-long-way-from-wierd-science/

Rudderless– imdb 7.2    I believe this is William H. Macy’s directorial debut. Starring Billy Crudup (Watchmen). It’s about a father finding his deceased son’s demo tapes. He decides to form a band to play these songs in honor of his son in hopes of connecting with him or finding peace. It seems like a beautiful story and I hope you enjoy if you watch it. I respect much of William H. Macy’s acting career and so I’m hopeful he will be a great director as well.

Leave a Reply

