31 Days of Horror. Rewind- 1970’s- Texas Chainsaw Massacre

Texas Chainsaw Massacre (1974)

Genre: Horror, Thriller

Director: Tobe Hooper

Texas Chainsaw Massacre is a masterpiece of horror cinema.  I can’t say it’s my favorite horror film, but it’s one I have a profound respect for.  To me, the 1970’s were the among the last great decade of horror and this remains as one of the top films of that genre.

This movie is about five friends driving out to the country where they unexpectedly meet a group of very nasty people complete with a deranged hitchhiker and of course a vicious cannibalistic psychopath known as “Leatherface” played by Gunnar Hansen.  I think they are moments in this film that annoy me. Maybe too much screaming, or sometimes the actors acting too much, but overall this movie is disturbing and wonderful in a horrific manner.  Sadly, there have been fewer things forced to be a franchise like this movie.  Sometimes (many times) a movie is meant to be a one-time deal.

Now if you have this whole story line already set up from the start, go with a trilogy or a series. Of course, I speak as more from an artistic view than a movie businessman’s view.  I’d rather get fewer films with more original stories and characters.

What I like most about Texas Chainsaw Massacre is the raw filmmaking. There is very little in terms of fancy effects or cheap scares.  Things in this film are gritty, disturbing, and realistic and that makes the film so much better.

What is your favorite pre-Scream (1996) horror movie?

2 thoughts on “31 Days of Horror. Rewind- 1970’s- Texas Chainsaw Massacre

  1. Such a classic! The final scene is one of my favorites of all-time. However, my favorite horror film is the original Halloween. The originality of it all is what gets me. It essentially invents the horror movie rules that are stilled followed today and builds suspense unlike anything I have ever seen.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

